Watch for the SULinks icon

If you see this icon next to the record for a journal article in one of our databases, click on it to see if the full-text is available online through the library. If there is no full-text available, SULinks will also allow you to check the catalog for print holdings, or request your article through interlibrary loan.
What's a database?
- Article Databases in 5 Minutes A great animation from the NCSU Libraries that explains how databases work
Google Scholar
Google Scholar misses a lot of important publications, and retrieves a lot of irrelevant and redundant material, but it's great for a quick and dirty search for something very specific
(search results open in a new window)
Bull Bison, Yellowstone National Park, WY

Photo by Steve Hinch - Smithsonian Institution
Core literature databases for biology
- Web of Science
Interdisciplinary coverage of peer-reviewed journals. Comprehensive coverage of the biological sciences from 1985, with citation links for all records. For biomedical topics, select "All Databases" to search Web of Science and Medline simultaneously
- Scopus
The world's largest interdisciplinary literature database. Comprehensive coverage of the biological sciences from 1960, with citation links for records from 1996. Includes the complete contents of Medline
Other important research databases for the life sciences: - Biological Sciences
Literature in all areas of the life sciences. Coverage from 1982 - Dissertations & Theses: Full Text
Full-text access to nearly one million dissertations published from 1997. Abstracts only for earlier dissertations and for masters theses - Medline
The life sciences database from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Coverage from 1950 - SciFinder
The most comprehensive index to the chemistry literature, including biochemistry. Coverage from 1907
Databases for non-scholarly coverage of life sciences topics: - Biology Digest
Indexes scholarly literature, but provides lengthier abstracts written for a general audience. Coverage from 1989 - General Science Full Text
This database provides good coverage of science magazines (limit your search to "Non-Peer Reviewed".) Coverage from 1984 - Health and Wellness Resource Center
Indexes articles from medical, health, and general interest journals, as well as medical reference materials
Quick Scopus tutorial
Need help? |
Contact Info:
Associate Librarian
Science & Technology Library
Room 104, Carnegie Building
Voice: (315) 443-9770
Skype Name: elizabeth.wallace.su.librarian
Send Email
Subjects:
Biology, Earth Sciences, Engineering & Computer Science, Physical Geography
Associate Librarian
Science & Technology Library
Room 104, Carnegie Building
Voice: (315) 443-9770
Skype Name: elizabeth.wallace.su.librarian
Send Email
Subjects:
Biology, Earth Sciences, Engineering & Computer Science, Physical Geography


Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait