Quick links to a variety of sources you might find useful for this class.
Last Updated: Aug 9, 2013
Use these and other News databases found in the Library's Database list.
Search these databases, available through the Library's Database menu, to find scholarly and peer reviewed articles in geography.
The world's largest interdisciplinary literature database. Includes complete contents of GEOBASE and is our most comprehensive index to the geographical literature. Coverage from 1823, but records from 1996 forward include links to both cited and citing references for all types of publications.
- Web of Science
Interdisciplinary. Search for citations to articles published in top peer-reviewed journals. Coverage from 1900
- GeoRef - ProQuest
Comprehensive coverage of all areas of the geological sciences, as well as hydrology, geomorphology, soils, oceanography, paleoclimatology. Coverage from 1785
- EPA Publication Finder
Publications and Newsletters from the US Environmental Protection Agency
- USGS Publications Warehouse
USGS archive of published reports and publications. About 75% are available in full-text .PDF
International sources of environmental information can be found here. This list is in no way a complete list of authoritative sources of informantion.
Primary sources for map and geospatial information related to coastal areas, shorelines, off-shore and climate.
- USGS Map Store
Free download of USGS topographic maps, both current and historic. Search for a place and then click the marker on the map. A window will open up with a list of maps for that quad for you to download.
- NOAA Charts
Use the indexes first to find the chart number before you use the "View NOAA Charts On-line" link.
Use the interactive catalog link at the top. Charts will need to be un-compressed and then opened in ArcGIS to display.
- EPA Watershed maps
Find watersheds and download information and data about that watershed or sub-watershed.
- Wetlands from US Fish & Wildlife Service
Build, search, query, and download custom digital maps and data in the area you choose.
- National Climate Data Center
TONS and TONS of data to download. Not an easy website to use. But it can yield some amazing results if you stick with it.
- EPA - EIS
Search for Environmental Impact Statements for areas within the US from 2004 on.
- IRI - Climate data
Climate data, included international sources.
- EPA EnviroFacts
Find general environmental information about a specific company or place.
Use UlrichsWeb to see if the journal you're using is peer-reviewed, scholarly, trade, or a mass-market title.
Copyright ©2013 Syracuse University Libraries. All Rights Reserved.