Frequently Asked Questions
RefWorks has an excellent Online Help system that you can search and browse to find the answer to your question. Some of the more common questions are listed below. Click the linked question for the full answer.
- Q: Can I import references from a database? A: Yes. RefWorks lets you export references direcly from hundreds of different databases that the library subscribes to. Look in the database for a "save," "export," "cite," or similar function.
- Q: Can I import references from a text file? A: Yes. Even when you are unable to directly export citations to RefWorks, many databases and e-journals let you save the citations as a formatted text file that you can import later.
- Q: Can I import references from EndNote? A: Yes. EndNote libraries from versions 8 and up can be directly imported into RefWorks. Older versions require exporting the citations first to RIS format.
- Q: How do I capture a citation to a web page to RefWorks?
A: RefGrab-It is a bookmarklet that works with your browser to capture bibliographic information from web pages giving you the option to import that data into your RefWorks account. - Q: How do I add references from RefWorks to my Word document?
A: Write-N-Cite is a utility runs an abbreviated version of RefWorks inside Microsoft Word in order to cite references in your paper and create an end of article bibliography. - Q: Can I share my RefWorks citations with others?
A: RefShare provides users the ability to allow users to share their Refworks database or just specific folders from their RefWorks database with others, to allow exporting, printing, generating a list of references, and custom output styles. - Q: How do I use RefWorks from off-campus? A: RefWorks uses the proxy server to work off-campus. Click the proxied link on the Login tab.
- Q: Can I use Write-N-Cite from off-campus? A: There is a one time configuration that you have to do to enable Write-N-Cite to work from off-campus using the Library's proxy server.
- Q: What if I'm asked for a "Group Code"? You should use the proxy url if possible for both RefWorks and Write-N-Cite. However, if you absolutely need it, the group code is RWSyracuse.
- Q: Do I always have to be online to use RefWorks? A: Write-N-Cite III allows you to download a copy of your RefWorks citations list for working on your paper offline. You can only add citations to RefWorks if you are online.
- Q: Can I create multiple RefWorks accounts? A: Yes, as many as you need. Create an account for your research, another for hobbies, and others for projects or for classes.
- See Also: RefWorks FAQs RefWorks has its own informative FAQ
RefWorks Announcements
RefWorks News via Twitter: http://twitter.com/refworks
Announcements of workshops and news. For some of these, you will have to open the page to get to the link.

Loading RSS Feed...
Quick Guides
Get started with these 2 guides in PDF format.
- Introducing RefWorks A guide to getting starting with RefWorks at Syracuse University Library.
- RefWorks Quickstart Guide Overview instruction guide from RefWorks that provides a thorough overview of most of the various functions. Guide also available in other languages.
Tutorial Videos
Tutorials available in print and as video screencasts.
- RefWorks and WriteNCite Basics Logging on, adding references to your database, and creating a bibliography using Write-N-Cite.
- RefWorks Advanced Searching, previewing styles, working offline, and backing up your database.
- RefShare Sharing a database or folder with RefShare.
Training Handouts
Guides prepared by SU RefWorks trainers.
More Questions?
Email the RefWorks team or use the form below to ask for assistance or to arrange instruction. For general questions or to contact us by phone or chat, use the Ask Us service.



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait