Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Subject Guides - Syracuse University Library
Admin Sign In 

Newhouse School of Public Communications - Guide to Syracuse University Library Resources 

Librarian recommended starting points for Journalism, Public Relations, TV/Radio/Film, Advertising and Public Communications.
Last update: Oct 29th, 2009 URL: http://researchguides.library.syr.edu/journalism  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Communications Databases             Print Page
  
 

Rate a Database!!!

Your feedback matters:  Which one of these databases do you rely on most frequently (use the "comments" field if you'd like to indicate more than one or the name of a database not listed)?

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Lexis Nexis Academic
Proquest Research Library
Library Press Display
Factiva
Newspaper Source
New York Times Historic Archive

Google Scholar

Many researchers use free tools like Google Scholar (GS) to identify helpful books or journal articles.  Check SU Library's Classic Catalog(SUMMIT) and/or ejournals list for availability at Syracuse.  If not at SU, consider submitting an interlibrary loan request via the library's ILLIAD service.


(search results open in a new window)
 
 

Databases A-Z

 

Scholarly Literature-Communications & Beyond

To explore the full list of SU Library's 400+ databases, visit the Library's Find Database page (or, use the "Databases" tab appearing on the DISCOVER search box at http://library.syr.edu ).

 

  • Communication & Mass Media Complete (A leading index of scholarly journal literature in the communication studies field.  Also indexes some leading popular and trade magazines relevant to communications).
     
  • ComAbstracts (CIOS) (Abstracts for books and articles in the fields of human communication studies including mass communication, human interaction, rhetoric, health communication, communication and new media, journalism, communication history). 
     
  •  Film & Television Literature Index (Covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity).

  • Proquest Research Library/ABI Inform (The ABI Inform segment of the larger "Proquest Research Library" database offers a superb collection of professional and scholarly literature in business, including most aspects of the advertising and public relations fields. Note: To access "ABI Inform," once inside Proquest, click on the pulldown menu entitled "database" and select "ABI Inform Global." The complete "Proquest Research Library" database also contains hundreds of scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, inclusive of popular news sources like Time Magazine, New York Times, Wall Street Journal).
     
  • MRI+ (Provides consumer magazine audience data, measuring the readership of over 230 magazines in the United States; clients also have access to Mediamark Reporter database that provides summary tables of key audience and product usage data from national probability sample of 27,000 households). For help interpreting the Mediamark reports you generate, visit this MRI+ guide hosted by the University of California, Berkeley - Thomas J. Long Business Library.    
     
  • BusinessSource Elite (a large collection of scholarly, trade and news articles with a business focus.  Use the “GE Geographic Terms” field in the search engine pull down windows to limit one’s research results to a particular country context.  Covers nearly 1,100 business publications and economics journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed publications.  Includes coverage of the Harvard Business Review). 
     
  • Media Law Reporter (A weekly reporting service focusing exclusively on federal and state media law. Full text of new cases and also a full archive of all previously published cases going back to 1977).
     
  • JSTOR (interdisciplinary academic journal articles; coverage can stretch back to the 19th century-thus, an interesting source when you want thoughtful historical discussion of communications and media studies as covered in primary journal sources from those time periods). 

 

 

Librarian

Profile ImageMichael Pasqualoni
Contact Info:
200 E.S. Bird Library
(315) 443-3715
Send Email

Subjects:
Communications, Public Administration, Political Science, International Relations

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait