Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Subject Guides - Syracuse University Library
Admin Sign In 

Newhouse School of Public Communications - Guide to Syracuse University Library Resources 

Librarian recommended starting points for Journalism, Public Relations, TV/Radio/Film, Advertising and Public Communications.
Last update: Oct 29th, 2009 URL: http://researchguides.library.syr.edu/journalism  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Choices III             Print Page
  
 

Industry Research

 Communications students and faculty often conduct in-depth research into industries and audiences.  For example, those in advertising may find themselves using highly business oriented databases. Here are additional resources to consider if a business and industry related topic is your focus:

MRI+ (Mediamark Research Inc.)
Access Note: Before entering the website, users are required to create an account.  Provides consumer magazine audience data, measuring the readership of over 230 magazines in the United States; clients also have access to Mediamark Reporter database that provides summary tables of key audience and product usage data from national probability sample of 27,000 households.

“BusinessSource Elite” (Ebsco)– business and trade literature, including Harvard Business Review.

“Business & Company Resource Center” (Gale)– a one stop combined business article collection, along with links to company financial reports and industry overview reports.

“MarketResearch.com Academic” – industry reports/market research database.

“Mintel Reports” (Mintel Group)– industry reports/market research database.

“Plunkett Research Online” (Plunkett Research, Ltd.) – industry reports/market research database.

“Tablebase” (RDS) –market research database.

“Simply Map” (Geographic Research Inc.)–market research database in the form of a mapping application (including some underlying data drawn from MRI+)

 
 

Choices III - Experian Consumer Research

 

 

  • Simmons Choices III (Experian Consumer Research)
    CD-ROM containing extensive survey data for large samplings of American households.  Allows cross tabulation of hundreds of consumer product categories and usage data for over 8,000 brands, inclusive of consumer media habits, diverse demographic categories and psychographic (attitudinal and lifestyle) profiles.  Data is from Simmons' Spring 2006 release and includes:
  • Integrated National Consumer Study/Hispanic Consumer Study
  • National Consumer Study - Teens (ages 12-17)
  • National Consumer Study - Kids (ages 6-11)

    Access CHOICES III at E.S. Bird Library, 3rd Floor, Geographic & Statistical Information Center - Workstation A.  The document, A Guide to Choices 3 Software, is also available at the Center.

Other universities have also created helpful guides to using Simmons Choices 3.  You may wish to review these guides (ignoring any portions that refer only to those other library's buildings, collections and policies):

 

University of Mississippi - Using Simmons Choices 3

University of Pennsylvania - Simmons Choices III: Basic 101

 

 

Choices III Training

Here is the primary user guide for Choices 3 from vendor, Experian Consumer Research

 

Com Librarian

Profile ImageMichael Pasqualoni
Contact Info:
210 Bird Library
(315) 443-3715
Send Email

Subjects:
Communications, Public Administration

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait