Rate a Database!!!
Your feedback matters: Which one of these databases do you rely on most frequently (use the "comments" field if you'd like to indicate more than one or the name of a database not listed)?
Databases A-Z
Here's a link to the full A to Z list of all SU Library subscription databases.
Article Databases - News and Business Sources
- Primary newspaper and magazine sources:
National Newspapers{Proquest} - covers 27 major newspapers, including New York Times & Washington Post
Newspaper Source{Ebsco} - covers hundreds of regional U.S. newspapers, as well as some international newspapers
New York Times Historic Archive{Proquest} - all NYT articles, fully imaged, from 1851 to 2006
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1876{Newsbank} - searchable, cover to cover reproductions of more than one million pages from more than 650 historical American newspapers.
Chicago Defender{Proquest} - Offers full page/full text page and article images with searchable full text, 1905-1975.
Lexis Nexis Academic- coverage varies; lots of coverage for recent decades; not very "browsable," but works best if one is searching for a particular topic; Also contains helpful search filters to limit results to source categories that include:
---US/International Newspapers
---Radio and TV Broadcast Transcripts
---Blogs
---Web Publications
---Newswires and Press Releases
Library PressDisplay{Proquest} - Vivid full color image versions of selected U.S. and international newspapers. Over 240 papers representing more than 50 countries. Maintains a 60 day rolling archive. For some titles/articles, the audio "interactive radio" feature will read that article content aloud, in the original language.
Readers Guide FullText {Wilson} - Large repository of articles from popular magazines and trade journals (1983 - present).
Readers Guide Retrospective {H.W. Wilson} - References to older popular magazine content (1890 - 1982).
-
Racial, ethnic and women's perspectives (the following all contain a mix of scholarly and news sources):
GenderWatch
Contemporary Women's Issues
Ethnic Newswatch
-
Alternative Press
Alternative Press Index (1991-present) and Alternative Press Index Archive (1969-1990) index almost 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary in scope.
- Business sources - including industry snapshots, company profiles and trade journal literature:
Business & Industry
Business and Company Resource Center
Factiva
Marketline
MarketResearch.com Academic
Mintel Reports
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
WARC {World Advertising Research Center}
Com Librarian |
210 Bird Library
(315) 443-3715
Send Email
Subjects:
Communications, Public Administration


Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait