Watch for the SULinks icon

If you see this icon next to the record for a journal article in one of our databases, click on it to see if the full-text is available online through the library. If there is no full-text available, SULinks will also allow you to check the catalog for print holdings, or request your article through interlibrary loan.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar misses a lot of important publications, and retrieves a lot of irrelevant and redundant material, but it's great for a quick and dirty search for something very specific
(search results open in a new window)
What's a database?
- Article Databases in 5 Minutes A great animation from the NCSU Libraries that explains how literature research databases work
Core literature databases
The world's best indexes to the EECS literature:
- Inspec
Produced by the IET in the UK, Inspec covers physics, electrical engineering, electronics, computer science, control engineering and information technology. Records from 1896. Updated weekly. NOTE: The "SULinks" icon in Inspec will directly to SU Library online journals, but not to conference papers. Use the yellow "Full Text" icon to link to our conference papers from IEEE/IET etc. - Scopus
The world's largest interdisciplinary literature database. Very comprehensive coverage of EECS. Coverage from 1960. Records from 1996 forward include links to both cited and citing publications - See below for a quick tutorial on how to search Scopus
Other important literature databases for EECS:
-
Compendex
The world's most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering literature database. Coverage from 1884. Updated weekly
- Computing Reviews
Unbiased critical reviews of current publications of note in all sub-disciplines of computing -
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text
Full text access to nearly one million dissertations published from 1997. Abstracts only for earlier dissertations and for masters theses
-
NTIS (National Technical Information Service)
Index to unclassified reports from influential U.S. and international government agencies - Web of Science
Search for citations to articles in top-ranked, peer-reviewed journals. Coverage from 1985
A good starting point for undergraduate research:
- Applied Science Full Text
Index to articles in engineering, technology and science journals from 1983
Quick Scopus tutorial
Need help? |
Contact Info:
Associate Librarian
Science & Technology Library
Room 104, Carnegie Building
Voice: (315) 443-9770
Skype Name: elizabeth.wallace.su.librarian
Send Email
Subjects:
Biology, Earth Sciences, Engineering & Computer Science, Physical Geography
Associate Librarian
Science & Technology Library
Room 104, Carnegie Building
Voice: (315) 443-9770
Skype Name: elizabeth.wallace.su.librarian
Send Email
Subjects:
Biology, Earth Sciences, Engineering & Computer Science, Physical Geography


Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait