This is the "Best Bets" page of the "PAF 410.9 - Policy & Legislative Process (Spring 2011)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Subject Guides - Syracuse University Libraries

PAF 410.9 - Policy & Legislative Process (Spring 2011)  

Last Updated: Mar 26, 2013 URL: http://researchguides.library.syr.edu/paf4109 Print Guide

Best Bets Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

BEST BETS

 

Thomas (Library of Congress) - Comprehensive freely available database for tracking current and historical legislative activity at the U.S. federal level.

 

Proquest Congressional (Proquest) - Subscription based database available to all currently affiliated S.U. students and faculty that provides extensive access to information about current and historical policy and law making activities by both houses of the United States Congress.  Note:  Formerly known as "Lexis Nexis Congressional."

 

CQ Weekly (Congressional Quarterly) - Week by week non-partisan report on activity within the United States Congress. Discusses issues about to be addressed by Congress, summaries of the previous week's legislative events, status of bills pending before the House and Senate, committee and floor activity, and outcomes of roll call votes. Searchable by date, topic, latest votes.  Subscription based service available to all currently affiliated S.U. students and faculty. 

 

USA.gov - The official gateway to government information in the U.S. where you can identify current elected office holders and current government agency contact information at the national, state and local levels.

 

Newspaper Databases (Syracuse University Library subject guide) - Links to various SU Library subscription collections of current and historical newspaper databases.  

 

CSPAN

C-SPAN ("Cable Satellite Public Affairs Network") - C-SPAN's mission since its founding in 1979 has been to provide public televised access to the U.S. political process, with some coverage of international issues as well.  The C-SPAN network provides nearly continuous coverage of a wide array of activity by the U.S. House of Representatives, U.S. Senate, and many other national, regional and local political events.

 

U.S. Census Bureau

 

Welcome to PAF 410.9 Library Research Guide

Syracuse University Library offers subscription databases and other guides that PAF 410.9 students will find helpful.  Visit links on this page and those appearing under the other menu bar categories above.

These starting points supplement additional sources referred to in PAF 410.9 for exploring public policy and legislative processes in the United States.

 

America Rock - Circa 1975

YouTube copy of classic Saturday morning educational film targeting children on the topic of 'how a bill becomes law.'  Originally aired on the ABC television network during the 1975 season as part of the "America Rock" segment of the series known as "Schoolhouse Rock."  E.S. Bird Library has a collection of "America Rock" video segments (on VHS) in its 4th floor video collection.

 

Policy Map

Policy Map is a geographic information system which allows you to easily create and customize maps, tables, and charts on various demographics, real estate, crime, money & income, jobs, education, energy, and public investments. T R F Policy Map Database Interface

Librarian

Profile Image
Michael Pasqualoni
Contact Info
Bird Library (Room 200)
(315) 443-3715
Send Email
 

Directories of People, Agencies and Organizations

Leadership Libraries on the Internet (Leadership Directories, Inc.)

This powerful database is a vast collection of numerous directories of important people, interest groups and organizations in the U.S. tied to policy making processes.  Get current contact information for:

  • legislators and other elected officials at national, regional, state and local levels
  • news media
  • lobbying organizations and political action committees (PACs)
  • nonprofit organizations
  • labor unions
  • corporations
  • business trade associations
  • federal and state courts  

Browse categories using the pull down menus or perform simple and advanced searches to build lists linked to a policy area of interest.  These are must see directories for those exploring the interest groups and other agencies that affect policymaking.

 

 

  Databases A-Z

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip