Skip to main content

Communications@Syracuse - Master of Science Program

A research starting points guide from Syracuse University Libraries intended for students enrolled in Newhouse School's online Master of Science in Communications program.

Communications@Syracuse (Newhouse School)

Welcome to a research starting points guide from Syracuse University Libraries intended for students enrolled in Newhouse School's online Master of Science in Communications program.  

 Please note that:

  • Starting points gathered here complement collections and search tools available at the primary SU Libraries website.

 

  • As with any research library, these collections represent a mix of resources you will use frequently, others occasionally, and some perhaps not at all (research goals within your coursework will influence those choices).

 

Database BEST BETS

Use of one of the two major citation databases is also highly recommended in situations where a student is specifically compiling scholarly journal articles on any topic. Those databases are:

Ebsco Host

Additional BEST BET databases are:

LEARN  MORE ABOUT NEXIS UNI - WHICH IS THE LEXIS NEXIS REPLACEMENT INTERFACE FOR THE DATABASE FORMERLY KNOWN AS LEXISNEXIS ACADEMIC:

Nexis Uni Support & Training (LexisNexis)

https://www.lexisnexis.com/en-us/support/nexis-uni/default.page

PDFs with overviews of Nexis Uni, user search tips, permalinking options, etc.

Nexis Uni 101

http://bit.ly/NexisUni101
Current webinar training schedule offered by LexisNexis, introducing Nexis Uni.

  

Syracuse University Libraries (Bird Library)

Bird Library Syracuse New York

Accessing eBooks

Students can limit SUMMON search results to ebooks - if they apply the combination of BOTH of these refinements to search results

  • “full text online” AND
  • “book/ebook”

SUMMON search result refinement options appear at the left margin of the search results screen within that database, and also on SUMMON's Advanced Search Screen.

  • SUMMON:  A search engine for most of the Syracuse University Libraries' collections and other resources beyond the SU Libraries.  Includes articles, books, journals, maps, sound recordings, archival materials, government documents, and more.  Use for searching for articles.  Narrow or expand results using multiple search refinements.
  • Classic Catalog:  A list of print and electronic materials available in the Syracuse University Libraries.  Includes books, journals, maps, sound recordings, archival materials, government documents and more.  Search by keyword, author, title, subject heading, or call number.

New at SU/SU Libraries for 2015-2016

voxgov logo

Facebook

Keep up via social media with library news and other topics pertinent to Syracuse University Libraries and a wide array of more global research related subjects.

Carnegie Library

carnegie library

  Citation Databases

These two citation databases are powerful research tools that cover a vast scope of interdisciplinary subject matter involving all topic areas. Both also include "times cited" links that allow a researcher or author to follow-up on subsequent citation patterns for an article(s) of interest:

Help With Citing?

Need help on formatting the sources you cite in your academic writing (e.g., APA, MLA, etc.) or want access to a full-fledged online bibliographic management system-like "RefWorks" or "EndNote Web" or "Zotero?"  Visit the SU Libraries Citation Support website.

 

A P Associated Press
For stylistic guidelines for journalists particularly -SU Libraries also offers from Associated Press the:

  Watch for the SULinks icon

If you see this next to the record for an article in an SU Libraries database, click on it to see if the full-text is available online.

Distance Learning Site

Look to the SU Libraries "Help For Distance Students" Website for more information about book and article delivery.  This site also explains how to gain, or troubleshoot, remote (off-campus) access to the library's many electronic resources via your SU NETID when working off campus.