A copy of PPT slides from the Public Communications Librarians Fall 2017 Research Success Meet-Up presentations at Newhouse 3, Room 141 (Sept 18, Sept 21 & Sept 22, 2017)
A link below to the "What Students Need To Know" handout, SU Office of Academic Integrity. You can also view a copy SU's full Academic Integrity Policy (PDF)
Libraries at research universities like Syracuse University offer what can seem an overwhelming array of research starting points. In addition to other resources and database links appearing on this subject guide, consider reviewing one or more of the following SU Libraries orientation materials. The PDF "orientation worksheet" below is composed with COM 100/COM 107 students specifically in mind -
INTRODUCING PHYSICAL LIBRARY LOCATIONS, SEE:
SU Libraries "Locations" Website
SU Libraries "Study Spaces" Website
see especially the link to "team rooms" for info about reservable "team rooms" & "team rooms with technology" at Bird
Need help on formatting the sources you cite in your academic writing (e.g., APA, MLA, etc.) or want access to a full-fledged online bibliographic management system-like "Mendeley" or "Zotero?" Visit the SU Libraries Citation Support website.
For stylistic guidelines for journalists particularly -SU Libraries also offers from Associated Press the:
Below are links leading to commonly defined distinctions between primary vs. secondary vs. tertiary sources. If you are working with a source type and unclear into which one or more categories that item falls, ask your Professor or a Librarian.
Here are links to definitions, with examples
Syracuse University Libraries Research Process Subject Guide - Primary v. Secondary Sources
Cornell University Library - Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources: A Quick Guide
Online Dictionary of Library and Information Science by Joan M Reitz (ABC-CLIO)
Offers excellent definitions of primary source, secondary source, and tertiary source. Click on "p" "s" and "t," respectively, and scroll down to those definitions.
A quick reference table that provides an overview of some basic descriptive classifications assigned to various types of periodicals. Note that search result refinement options at either left or right column of many databases - frequently allow narrowing of results according to these types (or equivalents).
News, business, and legal sources covering world news and companies, and including U.S. Supreme Court decisions, state, federal and international law, regulations, and law reviews.
Circulating books on journalism, mass media, television, radio, & film reside primarily on Bird Library’s 5th Floor. Use basic and advanced searches in the SU Libraries SUMMON search engine or, alternatively, classic catalog, to determine specific titles and locations of interest. Photography books are shelved in the Carnegie Library.
Want to explore some specific large SU Libraries ebook collections directly? Try ebook databases such as these:
When searching within the SUMMON search environment, to limit results to ebooks, add to your search these two refinements, in combination (refinements can be specified either prior to, or after, entering search teminology):
A concise list of SU Libraries subscription databases in media studies and news that represent (or otherwise contain) significant online video, audio or image content. Kanopy, recently added, in addition to non-fiction and documentary video, also contains numerous U.S. and international feature films from the Criterion Collection:
See also freely available news video searching available via:
Communication Source - is a primary collection of articles and other references to published literature in all sub-disciplines of public communications, including advertising and public relations. Covers articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, as well as trade journals and other periodicals in additional related fields such as media studies, broadcasting, journalism, linguistics, rhetoric and more. This database merges together two previously named resources, formerly known as "communication & mass media complete" (ebsco) and "comabstracts" (sage).
JSTOR - Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, and the social sciences. Moving wall principle means coverage of journal titles here ranges between 1 and 3 to 5 years behind the current date. Currency varies one journal title to the next.
ProQuest - Enormous repository of articles from newspapers both recent and deeply historical, scholarly journals, popular magazines, business/trade journals, and more.
Scopus - The world's largest abstract and citation database, with over 33 million records. Its coverage of Scientific, Technical, Medical and Social Sciences literature includes 15,000 peer-reviewed journals, 1,200 open-access journals, 500 conference proceedings, over 600 trade publications, and 200 book series. Scopus also covers 386 million quality web sources, including 22 million patents. Its most powerful feature may be its tracking of subsequent citation to earlier articles for the publications it contains. A great tool for compiling a scholarly "literature review" on any topic.
Two additional multidisciplinary scholarly journal databases that will tend to offer excellent results for all disciplines covered at Newhouse School are:
If seeking further explanation or examples for the typical formatting common to annotated bibliographies, see these guides:
If struggling with decision-making as to formatting of an annotated bibliography, one that has evaluative elements, do not forget that SU students also have access to the SU Writing Center and its consultants
The Information Cycle [University Libraries - Penn State University]
Focusing on the now ever more distant 1999 school shooting at Columbine High School in Littleton, Colorado, this brief flash animation outlines how world events translate over time into different formats of reporting and analysis typically done by journalists and scholars. Consider how the news and information cycle discussed here might apply to more recent school mass shooting tragedies (e.g., Virginia Tech University, Sandy Hook Elementary, etc.)
To browse a recent two to three weeks of articles from a set of major U.S. national and regional newspapers (with ability to quickly jump into specific sections of these papers), connect to Factiva, then click News Pages on the top toolbar.
News titles covered by the Factiva "News Pages" feature include: Wall Street Journal; New York Times; Washington Post; Los Angeles Times; Chicago Tribune; USA Today; Atlanta Journal Constitution; Tampa Bay Times; Barron’s; Forbes
NOTE: Factiva's license at SU has a five simultaneous user limit, so if turned away when accessing this database - take a brief break and try again shortly. Even when large groups access Factiva, it is rare for five people to access this BOTH at exactly the same time and also for exactly identical duration of use. You are welcome to report persistent Factiva database turnaway problems to the Public Communications Librarian at mjpasqua@syr.edu (315) 443-3715
If you see this icon next to the record for an article in one of the databases, click on it to see if the full-text is available online through the SU Libraries
For more information about video visit SU Libraries - video and music website.
To identify whether SU Libraries has a specific newspaper, journal or magazine title in its print or online collection, you can: