Resources for School Media Specialists in SUPA Schools

Guide to Online Newspapers at SU
Browse SU Libraries newspaper database options for Local, National, and International news.

PressReader
PressReader provides online access to over 5,000 local, regional and international newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 languages, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.

Google Magazines
Google Books recently started providing access to dozens of magazines, some going back to the 60s. It’s a limited collection, but nice and searchable.
 

AP Newsroom
Extensive collection of contemporary and historical photos, news stories, audio clips and print graphics produced by Associated Press journalists.

Adforum
An audiovisual library of more than 120,000 U.S. and international advertisements (1999-present), including Television, Digital, Print, Radio, and more. Content originates from over 20,000 advertising agencies, each providing critical information, such as Title, Agency, Advertiser, Brand, Taglines, and full credits. Adforum offers playlist features and a search that allows limiting of results to specific industry sectors and product categories in combination with countries of origin and media types. Award winning advertising can also be retrieved by award name and year (e.g., Clio, Effie, One Show, etc).

ARTstor
Collection of 300,000 images for use in the teaching and study of art, architecture and archaeology. Specialized image collections include Asian art, Native American art and culture from the Smithsonian, the MoMA collection for architecture and design and the Schlesinger photograph collection on the history of women in America.

• Flickr.com: The Commons
  Provides searchable access to photos from institutional collections in museums, libraries, and archives. Most images have no copyright restrictions. Also see Creative Commons images at Flickr for images from the general public with creative commons licenses.


• Life Magazine Photography Archives hosted by Google
  Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.


• Magnum Photos Archives
  Online photojournalism from some of the worlds top photographers with global subject matter. A constantly updated array of photo essays, archive stories, new books and projects. 

• Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound
  Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. Search for spoken word recordings, world music, protest music, and more.


• News & Public Affairs at the Internet Archive
  Alternative independent radio news programming is featured here. In addition to a host of intriguing radio news shows, this collection features the Presidential Recordings collection of historical speeches and secret recordings.
•  
• Radio Programs from the Internet Archive
  "If you're looking for advice about raising your child, conversations about personal change, a forum for transgender issues, or want to listen to an Old Time Radio show: the Radio Programs collection has something for you."


• The British Library: Archival Sound Recordings
  A variety of audio resources from the British Library.


• BBC News Online: On This Day
  On This Day features archived video, audio, and text from important events in history, organized by date and theme. Showcases of some of the most significant as well as some of the quirkier stories broadcast by BBC News since 1950 and now including a new World War II section.

• Television News Archive
  Archive of television news. The collection holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, FoxNews and more than 9,000 hours of special news- related programming.
• SCOLA
  International news coverage from 80 countries. SCOLA re-transmits television programming from around the world in native languages. Some of the countries included are: Afghanistan, Egypt, France, Germany, Italy, Mexico, Mongolia, Pakistan, Russia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, and Thailand among others. To watch, select World TV online, then select from any of the Channels. NOTE: Times listed are Central Time Zone; add one hour for local Syracuse time.
• Critical Past
   The collection spans thousands of hours of video, millions of still photos, and continues to grow.  Videos can be browsed and viewed for free, but Critical Past charges for video downloads.

• The Prelinger Video Archive at Archive.org
  Prelinger Archives was founded in 1983 by Rick Prelinger in New York City. Over the next twenty years, it grew into a collection of over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films. In 2002, the film collection was acquired by the Library of Congress, Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division.
•  
• CBC Archive
  This free site features thousands of radio and television clips from the archives of the Canadian Broadcast Corporation, organized by topic and period.