Home - GER 300 - Introduction to German Literature: Friends and Foes in Various Genres from Enlightenment to Present (Fall 2018) - Research Guides at Syracuse University Libraries

Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

458B Bird Library

315-443-3539

Syracuse University

Subjects: Art, Design, and Photography, Film Studies, Humanities, Language, Literature, and Linguistics, Museum Studies

German Language & Literature at Syracuse University

The Syracuse University German Program is part of the Department of Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics in the College of Arts & Sciences.

German Language, Literature, and Culture Program Website

Connecting to Germanic Languages & Literatures Resources at the SU Libraries

General "German Language & Literature" Guide on the SU Libraries Website
Subject Librarian for Germanic Languages & Literatures
Lydia Wasylenko
lwwasyle@syr.edu
315-443-4692

Classified Resources at the SU Libraries

Browsing Library Collections by Call Numbers

Although some older books are perhaps classified in the Dewey Decimal Classification System, most Syracuse University Libraries print resources are classified in and physically arranged according to the alpha-numeric Library of Congress (LC) Classification System. [NOTE: Although they have no physical presence, e-books are also assigned base LC classification numbers to make them findable via Classic Catalog "Call Number" searches.]

The LC system has allocated Class P to Languages and Literatures. “P” call numbers are assigned to the Languages and Literatures holdings that are shelved in the Reference Collection on the 2nd floor of Bird Library and in the general and oversize stacks on the 5th floor of Bird Library. (Note: Less frequently used library materials are kept at The Facility, a high-density storage space at 1556 Jamesville Avenue, but can be requested for next-business-day delivery to a library on campus.)

To see an outline of the entire "P" Class, open the document below. Then click on Subclass "PT" for an outline of the classification scheme for the Germanic Language and German Literature.

Library of Congress Class P - Language and Literature
Selected authors fall in the ranges PT2600-2653 (1860/70-1960) and PT2660-2688 (1961-2000).

Electronic and Print Journals

The Library's Journal Locator
Use this tool to find out whether the SU Libraries offer local access to a given journal and, if so, to determine the dates of coverage.

Showing both print and digital holdings of any given title, the Journal Locator can be searched by specific title (e.g., german quarterly) or by ISSN; browsed alphabetically for journal titles; or browsed by subject categories (e.g., the very broad category "Languages & Literatures," and under that the narrower subcategory "Germanic Literature"). The "Citation Linker" / "Look up Article" feature can be used to retrieve articles for which citations are already known.

There are 3 ways to obtain journal articles:

o ON-LINE – accessing articles directly from full-text databases or from on-line journals to which the SU Libraries subscribe.
o IN PRINT (rare!) – for articles in UNBOUND issues of journals to which the Libraries have subscriptions for print only OR of journals for which SU Libraries' on-line access does not go forward enough in time.
o INTERLIBRARY LOAN (Interlibrary Loan request via the ILLiad system) – for articles in the SU Libraries' bound journal holdings (all now held in remote storage at The Facility) or for journals for which the SU Libraries have no coverage.

Obtaining Books and Articles from Other Libraries (Interlibrary Loan)

ILLiad, the Automated System for Interlibrary Borrowing
If the SU Libraries do not hold an item that you need for your research, we will try to borrow it for you from another library. Free interlibrary loan (ILL) service is provided through ILLiad, an automated system. Some publications (e.g. journal articles) may be e-mailed directly to you as PDF files. Books must be picked up at Bird Library.

If you haven't used ILLiad before, you will be prompted to fill out a registration form and you may want to take a look at information provided for "First Time Users."

NOTE: The preferred way to submit Interlibrary Loan requests is via the "Request document via ILLiad" links in WorldCat records.

Citation Help from the SU Libraries

Overview
"Provides quick access to guidelines and examples of APA, MLA, and other often-used citation styles."
Citation Guide: MLA

The Summon Discovery Tool and the "Classic" Library Catalog

Summon
"Summon searches most of the journal, magazine, and newspaper resources available through library databases, as well as the SU Libraries catalog, the Syracuse University Digital Collections, and the SURFACE repository. Summon also searches the full-text content of the SU Library’s e-book collections and Google Books."

"While it does contain information from most of the library’s databases, there is some information that is not included in Summon. Specialized or comprehensive research should be done in the Library’s subject-specific databases and using the library’s primary catalog."

EXAMPLE: "Advanced Search" on "german literature" AND "women authors" in "Discipline: languages & literatures" excluding newspaper articles and book reviews from results
The Classic Catalog
A pull-down menu offers search options more specific than "Keyword," including "Author," "Title," "Journal Title," "Subject" (Library of Congress Heading), and "Call Number." An "Advanced Search" feature is also available.

EXAMPLES:
"Author" search: Bachmann, Ingeborg, 1926-1973
"Title" search: Heimat ist das, was gesprochen wird [a work by the winner of the 2009 Nobel Prize in Literature]
"Subject Heading" searches (using standardized Library of Congress Subject Headings), which can range from very broad to very specific: German literature -- Women authors -- History and criticism; Jelinek, Elfriede, 1946 -- Criticism and interpretation
"Call Number" searches, including using "lit. nos." for specific authors: May Ayim (PT2661.Y56); Sibylle Berg (PT2662.E64); Marieluise Fleißer (PT2611.L46); Marie Luise Kaschnitz (PT2621.A73); Käthe Kollwitz (N6888.K62, NC251.K6, NE654.K6); Emine Sevgi Özdamar (PT2675.Z33); Kathrin Röggla (PT2678.O363); Nelly Sachs (PT2637.A4184); Christa Wolf (PT2685.O36); Juli Zeh (PT2688.E28)

On-line Union Catalog (for identifying resources of interest at other institutions)

WorldCat (FirstSearch)
A union catalog that contains records for books and other materials in all formats (including electronic/digital resources, audio recordings, films/video, and maps), of all vintages, and in hundreds of different languages. Provides information on titles cataloged by tens of thousands of OCLC member libraries around the world, offering literally millions of bibliographic records and associated holdings details. NOTE: The preferred way to submit Interlibrary Loan requests is via the "Request document via ILLiad" links in WorldCat records.

EXAMPLE:
"Advanced Search" on "Author phrase" and/or "Subject Phrase" Tawada, Yoko limiting to "Language German" if desired

Potentially Relevant Library Databases

SU Libraries "Databases A-Z" Menu
The SU Libraries provide access to almost 600 databases across all disciplines and subject areas. This menu that can be searched by Title (e.g., JSTOR); by Subject (e.g., Literature); or by Type (e.g., Video).

JSTOR
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
KLGonline
This "critical encyclopedia of contemporary German literature" provides bio-bibliographical information on hundreds of writers of German literature after 1945. A typical entry consists of a short biography; a list of prizes won; a bibliography of the author's works (including translations and works for theater, film, radio, and multimedia projects); interviews; and a list of secondary resources. NOTE: SU users have access only to content within the "red box" module.

ProQuest Literature & Language
Offers access to multiple ProQuest databases, including ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Literature & Language and ProQuest Research Library: Literature & Language.

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
"Full-text searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods." See: German Theory and Criticism (Second Edition 2005) and 1. Sturm und Drang/Weimar Classicism (Second Edition 2005); 2. Romanticism (Second Edition 2005); 3. Nineteenth Century (Second Edition 2005); 4. Twentieth Century to 1968 (Second Edition 2005); and 5. 1968 and After (Second Edition 2005).

GER 300 - Introduction to German Literature: Friends and Foes in Various Genres from Enlightenment to Present (Fall 2018): Home