This guide is intended for Spring 2018 ADV 421 students (Course section taught by Prof Kevin O'Neill)
SU Libraries offers numerous research tools and information sources to assist you when investigating advertising. Explore the various sections of this guide, including tabbed sub-pages, for links to leading examples of these tools.
These resources gathered by SU Public Communications Librarian, Michael Pasqualoni.
LEARN MORE ABOUT NEXIS UNI - WHICH IS THE LEXIS NEXIS REPLACEMENT INTERFACE FOR THE DATABASE FORMERLY KNOWN AS LEXISNEXIS ACADEMIC:
PDFs with overviews of Nexis Uni, user search tips, permalinking options, etc.
For a gateway to additional newspaper databases SU Libraries offers - visit the online research guide site called Newspaper Databases
Also available at Bird Library, 2nd floor - reference collection (for in library use only):
Intermedia Dimensions (Media Dynamics, Inc.): Reference book title useful for cross-comparisons of different media types (online, TV, radio, magazines, etc.) for relevant audience demographics, media ‘reach,’ CPM (“Cost per Mile”) data for advertising as well as qualitative comparisons of various media types and implications for media planning.
This slightly older Media Dynamics title also available at 2nd Floor reference collection, Bird Library (does not circulate, in-library use only):
The Media Book (Media Dynamics, Inc.): In a single reference book, this 2014 edition offers quantitative and qualitative aspects of performance for all six major media—TV, radio and magazines, the Internet, newspapers and out-of-home (including digital). Provides media planners and buyers and media sellers with a conciser review of all aspects of media performance including a historical overview, audience reach, demographic appeals and CPMs. Also includes proprietary estimates on subjects such as ad exposure factors, ad awareness levels by GRP levels and ad wearout. Includes some data Media Dynamics obtains via partnerships with other leading research companies like GfK MRI, Experian and Scarborough.