Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse Florence Resources: QSX

For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference and video sources:

• International Encyclopedia of Sexuality
  Comprehensive A-Z reference that defines sexuality from a broad biocultural perspective and show the diversity of human sexual behavior and belief systems.
   
• Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
  Addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation.
   
• Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures
  The central aim of this encyclopedia is to give the reader a comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality.
   
• De-Centring Western Sexualities: Central and Eastern European Perspectives (eBook)
  Critically assesses the current state of knowledge about sexualities outside the framings of "The West," by focusing on gender and sexuality within the context of Central and Eastern Europe.
   
• A Dictionary of Film Studies
  Covers all aspects of film studies, including terms, concepts, debates, and movements in film theory and criticism, national, international and transnational cinemas, film history, film movements and genres, film industry organizations and practices, and key technical terms and concepts in 500 detailed entries.
   
• Filmakers Library Online
  Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum, race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
   
• Queer Cinema in Europe (eBook)
  Contributors to this volume resituate discussions of queer representation and desire within a uniquely diverse and divergent European context.
   
• Queer Cinema in the World (eBook)
  Explores how queer filmmaking intersects with international sexual cultures, geopolitics, and aesthetics to disrupt dominant modes of world making.

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

• GenderWatch
  Full-text publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
   
• LGBTQ+ Source
  Premier resource to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. Designed for academic, professional and public communities.
   
• Contemporary Women's Issues
  Full-text articles on a broad range of women's issues, bringing together such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, aging, gerontology and human rights.
   
• FIAF: International Index to Film Periodicals Plus
  Bibliographical resource offering coverage of hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals right up to the present day.
   
• Film & Television Literature Index
  Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television.
   
• Film Literature Index
  Annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television.
   
• Filmakers Library Online
  Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum, race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.

You can also contact the SU Libraries while you are abroad, including via:

Text: 315-464-0744

Chat: Select the "Chat" link on our website.

Phone: 315-443-4083

E-mail: libref@syr.edu