Skip to main content
Syracuse University Libraries

Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse Florence Resources: ITA

A collection of resources for Syracuse University Abroad's Florence Program.

ITA: Finding Background Information

For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:

  • Collins Italian Dictionary
    Covers the latest vocabulary, culture notes to broaden users' knowledge of Italian culture, and web addresses to enable further research.
    .
  • Dictionary of Italian Literature
    Covers the history of Italian literature, with entries ranging from the 13th century to the present and from Dante and Boccaccio to Umberto Eco.

  • Pocket Oxford Italian Dictionary
    Essential vocabulary, clear translations, usage and grammar help in this English-Italian dictionary.

ITA: Finding Articles

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

  • MLA International Bibliography
    Subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
     
  • Humanities Full Text
    Provides full text of the most important scholarly sources in the humanities.
     
  • JSTOR
    Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
     
  • ProQuest
    A collection of databases covering a broad range of subject areas such as: business and economics; medical and health; news and world affairs; science; education; technology; humanities; social sciences; psychology; literature; law; and, women's studies.

Ask Us!

You can also contact the SU Libraries while you are abroad, including via:

SMS (Text) icon Text: 315-464-0744

Instant Message (IM) icon Chat: Click on the "Chat" link on our website.

24/7 icon  24/7 Chat (Note: Non-SU)

Phone icon Phone: 315-443-4083

E-mail icon E-mail: libref@syr.edu

Other Research Guides