Skip to main content
Syracuse University Libraries

Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse Florence Resources: APH

A collection of resources for Syracuse University Abroad's Florence Program.

APH: Finding Background Information and Images

For basic background information, art collections, and links to other related resources, check out these reference and image sources:

  • Oxford Companion to the Photograph
    Over 800 biographical entries, both on photographers and on others who have influenced photographic culture from the 19th century to the present.
     
  • AP Images Classic
    Covers depictions of many historically notable persons, places and events.
     
  • AP Images Collection
    Contains images as well as audio recordings captured by the Associated Press and covers depictions of historically notable persons, places and events.
     
  • ARTStor
    Collection of 300,000 images for use in the teaching and study of art, architecture and archaeology.

APH: Finding Articles

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

  • Art & Architecture Source
    Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.
     
  • Art Index Retrospective
    Covering content for more than 55 years of art journalism, this retrospective resource includes articles, interviews, reviews and much more from over 600 publications.
     
  • ARTbibliographies Modern
    Index with abstracts to journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
     
  • Humanities Full Text
    Full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more.
     
  • JSTOR
    Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.

Ask Us!

You can also contact the SU Libraries while you are abroad, including via:

SMS (Text) icon Text: 315-464-0744

Instant Message (IM) icon Chat: Click on the "Chat" link on our website.

24/7 icon  24/7 Chat (Note: Non-SU)

Phone icon Phone: 315-443-4083

E-mail icon E-mail: libref@syr.edu

Other Research Guides