SOC - Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse Florence Resources - Research Guides at Syracuse University Libraries

SOC: Finding Background Information

For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources and journals:

EHARF World Cultures
Cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
Covers the major theories, research, people, and issues in contemporary gender studies.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
Addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures
The central aim of this encyclopedia is to give the reader a comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality.
Cultural Psychology of Human Values (eBook)
Provides conceptual and theoretical elaborations on human values from a cultural psychological approach.
Cross-Cultural Psychology (eBook)
Spans all areas of cross-cultural psychology, with particular emphasis on developmental psychology, personality, and social psychology.

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

Sociological Abstracts
Bibliographic coverage of sociology, social work, aging, gerontology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy and other social sciences.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America.
Race Relations Abstracts
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
GenderWatch
Full-text publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Contemporary Women's Issues
Full-text articles on a broad range of women's issues, bringing together such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, aging, gerontology and human rights.