Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse Florence Resources: ANT

For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources and journals:

• EHRAF World Cultures
  Cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
   
• Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Art and Architecture
  Includes thirty essays divided into five sections: pictures from the inside, Greek and Roman art and architecture in the making, ancient contexts, post-antique contexts, and approaches.
   
• International Encyclopedia of Sexuality
  Comprehensive A-Z reference that defines sexuality from a broad biocultural perspective and show the diversity of human sexual behavior and belief systems.
   
• Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures
  The central aim of this encyclopedia is to give the reader a comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality.
   
• De-Centring Western Sexualities: Central and Eastern European Perspectives (eBook)
  Critically assesses the current state of knowledge about sexualities outside the framings of "The West," by focusing on gender and sexuality within the context of Central and Eastern Europe.
   
• Witchcraft Myths and Persecutions (eBook)
  Includes essays on witchcraft and mythologies, legal mechanisms and social contexts, and folklore.

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

• Anthropology Plus
  World's most comprehensive, focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to today in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies.
   
• AnthroSource
  Full-text of journals published by the American Anthropological Association.
   
• Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984
  Covering content for more than 55 years of art journalism, this retrospective resource includes articles, interviews, reviews and much more from over 600 publications.
   
• ATLA Religion Database
  An essential resource for theology students and researchers seeking information pertaining to social sciences, history and humanities.
   
• GenderWatch
  Full-text publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
   
• Historical Abstracts with Full Text
  Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
   
• JSTOR
  Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.

You can also contact the SU Libraries while you are abroad, including via:

Text: 315-464-0744

Chat: Select the "Chat" link on our website.

Phone: 315-443-4083

E-mail: libref@syr.edu