Home - ADV 425 - Integrated Advertising Campaigns (Spring 2020) - Research Guides at Syracuse University Libraries

Welcome

This guide is intended for Spring 2020 ADV 425 students (Course sections taught by Prof Brian Sheehan and Prof Ed Russell)
SU Libraries offers numerous research tools and information sources to assist you when investigating advertising. Explore the various sections of this guide, including tabbed sub-pages, for links to leading examples of these tools.

These resources specific to ADV 425 gathered by SU Public Communications Librarian, Michael Pasqualoni.

Advertising Database BEST BETS

Users of MRI University Reporter database: The consumer survey data in that MRI interface migrated as of June 2021 into the MRI-Simmons database platform, and folded itself nto the search feature within Simmons called "Brand Catalyst." Contact Newhouse Librarian, Michael Pasqualoni [mjpasqua@syr.edu || (315) 443-3715] with any related questions about those databases.

Adweek
Digital platform for this leading trade publication in advertising and brand marketing. Includes access to premium online articles, embedded images, and streaming video.

Adforum
Audiovisual library of U.S. and international advertising sourced from numerous ad agencies, including award winning ads (Cannes Lion, Clio, Effie, One Show, etc.)

WARC
Case studies of advertising, marketing communications and branding. Includes video of advertising campaigns.

Mintel Reports
Research reports covering consumer behavior and analysis of United States markets.

MRI Simmons
50 simultaneous users. Consumer survey data for U.S. individuals and households, yielding cross-tabulated brand and product category preferences, demographic and psychographic data, and trends for use of digital and traditional media. Includes access to Brand Catalyst, a visualization platform for creating consumer personas that compare and predict these preferences.

J. Walter Thomson Advertising America
The J. Walter Thompson Company Archive documents the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms. The papers here reveal many aspects of twentieth-century cultural, social, business, marketing, consumer and economic history while investigating the human psyche.

SRDS Media Solutions
Directories for television and radio broadcasting, digital media, print newspapers and magazines, place-based and outdoor media. Also includes local market audience, programmatic media planning, and digital network information.

Communication Source
Abstracts of publications covering advertising, discourse, linguistics, media studies, speech-language pathology, and other communication fields.

Advertising Age
Login required. Content from Advertising Age, including articles, videos, and podcasts.

Terminology and General Principles

Advertising Media A-to-Z by Jim Surmanek
Call Number: HF5826.5 .S848 2004 - Bird Library - 4th Floor
ISBN: 0071422145
Publication Date: 2003-11-07
Dictionary of Advertising and Marketing Concepts by Arthur Asa Berger; Fred S. Goldberg (Foreword by)
Call Number: Available via Internet
ISBN: 9781611329858
Publication Date: 2013-08-31

Kanopy - Video Collection

Kanopy
One of the largest academic streaming video collections in the market, containing tens of thousands of educational titles, and also U.S. and international feature films. Kanopy partners with over 800 producers, including the Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Kino Lorber, First Run Features, PBS, BBC, California Newsreel, Media Education Foundation and more. Some titles include transcripts and closed captioning. Advertising students can click the "browse subjects" menu to explore titles available under the category "media & communications."

eMarketer

Insider Intelligence eMarketer
Marketing, advertising, and consumer reports covering a range of industries, such as financial services, ecommerce, technology, and more. Includes content from both eMarketer and Business Insider Intelligence.

TVB

Television Bureau of Advertising
Non profit trade association for the U.S. broadcasting industry.

Notable Audience Research Titles at Bird Library

Cross-Platform Dimensions by Media Dynamics

Call Number: HF5813.U6 C76 (current edition, floor 2 - Bird Library, Reference Collection). In-Library Use Only

Publication Date: 2019

An annual report series from Media Dynamics designed to help make realistic evaluations of the audiences and advertising efficacy of TV, digital, radio, print and out-of-home on a comparative basis.

TV Dimensions by Media Dynamics
Call Number: HE8700.8 .T917 (current edition, floor 2 - Bird Library, Reference Collection). In-Library Use Only
Publication Date: 2019 (and earlier editions)
A research annual – covering all aspects of TV audience and media research

Also available at Bird Library, 2nd floor - reference collection (for in library use only):

Intermedia Dimensions (Media Dynamics, Inc.): Reference book title useful for cross-comparisons of different media types (online, TV, radio, magazines, etc.) for relevant audience demographics, media ‘reach,’ CPM (“Cost per Mile”) data for advertising as well as qualitative comparisons of various media types and implications for media planning.

This slightly older Media Dynamics title also available at 2nd Floor reference collection, Bird Library (does not circulate, in-library use only):

The Media Book (Media Dynamics, Inc.): In a single reference book, this 2014 edition offers quantitative and qualitative aspects of performance for all six major media—TV, radio and magazines, the Internet, newspapers and out-of-home (including digital). Provides media planners and buyers and media sellers with a conciser review of all aspects of media performance including a historical overview, audience reach, demographic appeals and CPMs. Also includes proprietary estimates on subjects such as ad exposure factors, ad awareness levels by GRP levels and ad wearout. Includes some data Media Dynamics obtains via partnerships with other leading research companies like GfK MRI, Experian and Scarborough.

4As Agency Search

4As ("American Association of Advertising Agencies") - Ad Agency Search Engine