These resources are visual, browseable tools for locating contemporary photojournalism:
- AP images
AP Images is one of the world's largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. As an essential source of photographs and graphics for professional image buyers, AP Images strives to meet the needs of today's global customer through superior image quality, selection and service.
Note: if you are unable to access AP images via the link above, try again later. Our subscription only allows 10 simultaneous users.
- Library PressDisplay
Library PressDisplay provides full page image access to over 240 newspapers representing more than 50 countries. Users can search across papers, or view a paper page by page. Coverage includes a rolling 60 day backfile.
Note: if you are unable to access Library Press Display via the link above, try again later. Our subscription only allows 5 simultaneous users.
The databases below are mostly text-based, but they cover news sources which have plenty of images. Use Use CAP(keyword) to find articles with image captions containing your keyword.
- ProQuest News & Newspapers
One stop search portal for multiple news and newspaper databases: AltPressWatch, Canadian Newsstream, Ethnic Newswatch, Gannett Newsstand, GenderWatch, US Newsstream and International Newsstream. ProQuest Historical Newspapers are also included, with access to the complete seventy year run of the Chicago Defender and full page scans reaching back to the founding 19th century issues for the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post.
- ProQuest Central
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects.
- Alt-Press Watch
Full text of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America.
Browse Individual Publications by Issue for Articles with Images