Skip to main content

WRT 105 - Popular Culture (Fall 2014): Finding Sources in Library Databases

General Full Text Resources

Along with SUMMON, which helps you to locate full text articles (among many other things), you may want to choose another general/interdisciplinary database when searching for both popular and scholarly articles:

  • ProQuest Research Library
    From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects.

  • OmniFile Full Text MEGA from EBSCO
    Provides full text articles, with their accompanying indexing and abstracts, from the the majority of our Wilson periodical databases.

These resources search a variety of databases and reference sources to return a wide spectrum of scholarly and popular material, and they'll exclude the Book, DVD, Government Document, and other formats available via SUMMON. These resources feature primarily articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals.

Topical Full Text Resources

The resources on the lists below will bring you to more specific, and often scholarly, souces that address your topic. You'll also find access to datasets, multimedia, and other types of resouces among these resources. If you have questions or need help using any of these resources at any time, get in touch with a librarian.

  • Communication Source
    Combines Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts (formerly published by Sage), and includes many unique sources not previously available in other databases. Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Advertising, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
  • Humanities Full Text
    Full-text access to articles in journals covering Communications, Folklore, Gender Studies, Journalism, Literary & Social Criticism, and Literature.
     
  • JSTOR
    Full-text articles from over 1,300 journals in Language and Literature, African American Studies, Film Studies, British Studies, and Folklore and many other areas.
  • FIAF: Index to Film Periodicals Plus FIAF Index to Film Periodicals Plus is a bibliographical resource offering coverage of hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals right up to the present day. Many of these key titles are available here in full text including complete runs.
     
  • Film & television literature indexCovers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television.
     
  • NexisUni
    Access more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790, together with extensive current and historical U.S. state and federal statutes, published court decisions and regulations. Registering for a free ID and password within the interface is recommended for those looking to take advantage of personalization features such as alerts, saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
     
  • Social Sciences Full Text
    covers sociology, social work, family studies, marriage and family therapy and more.
     
  • Alt-Press Watch
    Full text of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.