Skip to main content
Syracuse University Libraries

Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse Madrid Resources: FIL

A collection of resources for Syracuse University Abroad's Madrid Program.

FIL: Finding Background Information and Videos

For basic background information, video collections, and links to other related resources, check out these reference and video sources:

  • A Dictionary of Film Studies
    Covers all aspects of film studies, including terms, concepts, debates, and movements in film theory and criticism, national, international and transnational cinemas, film history, film movements and genres, film industry organizations and practices, and key technical terms and concepts in 500 detailed entries.
     
  • Filmakers Library Online
    Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum, race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
     
  • SCOLA
    International news coverage from 80 countries. SCOLA re-transmits television programming from around the world in native languages.
     
  • Television News Archive
    Archive of television news. The collection holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming.

FIL: Finding Articles

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

  • Art Index Retrospective
    Covering content for more than 55 years of art journalism, this retrospective resource includes articles, interviews, reviews and much more from over 600 publications.
     
  • ARTbibliographies Modern
    Index with abstracts to journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
     
  • FIAF: International Index to Film Periodicals Plus
    Bibliographical resource offering coverage of hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals right up to the present day.
     
  • Film & Television Literature Index
    Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television.
     
  • Film Literature Index
    Annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television.
     
  • Filmakers Library Online
    Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum, race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
     
  • International Index to the Performing Arts
    Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry-including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more.
     
  • Humanities Full Text
    Full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more.

Ask Us!

You can also contact the SU Libraries while you are abroad, including via:

SMS (Text) icon Text: 315-464-0744

Instant Message (IM) icon Chat: Click on the "Chat" link on our website.

24/7 icon  24/7 Chat (Note: Non-SU)

Phone icon Phone: 315-443-4083

E-mail icon E-mail: libref@syr.edu

Other Research Guides