Research Guides: History of Education: Primary Sources in General Collections & Online

Newspapers

ProQuest News and Newspapers
Search portal for multiple news and newspaper databases including Alt-PressWatch, Canadian Newsstream, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Global Breaking Newswires, International Newsstream, US Newsstream, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Text visualization options for selected newspapers are available on the TDM Studio platform; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
Television News Archive
Index to evening news and some special reports from major U.S. national broadcast networks from 1968 to present for ABC, CBS and NBC, 1995 to present for CNN, and 2004 to present for Fox News. NBC and CNN allow video streaming online. Advertising that ran adjacent to reports is often available (e.g., search “commercial” and a brand name). Syracuse University Libraries is a sponsoring institution of the Television News Archive.
Chicago Defender Archive
Searchable full page images of this influential African American newspaper, covering years 1905-2010
African American Newspapers : the 19th Century.
African American newspapers published during the 1800s; includes full page image content.

Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress. Learn more

NewspaperARCHIVE.com

Search hundreds of newspapers (.pdf) by title and date or by keyword. Database includes the Syracuse Post Standard. Coverage for some papers goes back to the 1700's.

Televison News Archive

Archive of television news. The collection holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, FoxNews and more than 9,000 hours of special news- related programming including ABC: 1968 - present, CBS: 1968 - present, NBC: 1968 - present, CNN: 1995 - present, FoxNews: 2004 - present

All Newspaper Databases

Librarian's Subject Guide to Newspaper Databases- Michael Pasqualoni

Primary Source Subscriptions

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Index to magazines and journals on a wide range of topics, from 1890-1982, originally published as the Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature.
Oral History Online
Collection of oral history interviews.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Log in to enable all features.Digitized print volumes, some of which are public domain. Includes almost half the print holdings at SU Libraries, with full-text searching across the entire repository, full-text PDF downloads for items in public domain or not otherwise under copyright, and full-text access to brittle out-of-print items in SU Libraries.

Census and Statistical data

Social Explorer
Tool for creating maps and visualizations related United States demographics.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Standard reference for quantitative data about American history. Statistics can be downloaded to Excel or CSV, printed and graphed.

Education Statistics Links and Resources
New York State and National data

Numeric Data Services Librarian's US Census Subject Guide- Paul Bern

Numeric Data Services Subject Guide- Paul Bern

Video and Image Databases

American History in Video
Archival commercial and governmental newsreels, documentaries covering American history. Includes footage from United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel.
AP Images Collection
Associated Press images and audio recordings.

Databases by type (video, image, audio, maps, more)

Print Indexes

International Index to Periodicals v.3 (1920/1923)-v.13 (1952/1955)

Call number: AI 3 R49 2^nd floor Bird Library

This is more scholarly than Readers Guide

Previous title: Readers Guide Supplement 1907-1923

Call number: AI 3 R49 2^nd floor Bird Library

Headings - Different terminology may have been used in the past. e. g. dormitories vs. residence halls

--Colleges and Universities

--Academic

Index to Periodical Articles By and About Blacks. 1960-1998

Call number AI 3 O 371 2nd floor Bird Library

Heading – Universities & Colleges

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature 1802 – 1906

Call number AI 3 P7 2nd floor Bird Library

Headings: -- Universities

-- College

College Student Personnel Abstracts 1965-1984

Call number: LB 2343 . C65 4th floor Bird Library

Newspaper indexes in print

The Times Index Call number AI 21 T46 2nd Floor Bird Library

Washington Post Index Call number AI 21 W33 W36 2nd floor Bird Library