Skip to main content

CFS 204- Applied Research Methods in Child and Family Studies (Fall 2017): Creating APA Citations and Bibliographies

Resources for the library research portion of the CFS 204 research assignment.

Online Citation Help

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): Research and Citation Resources

Citation generators here are quicker to learn to use but have less functionality compared to Bibliographic Management Software.  It is recommended to double check the style created by any citation generator.

KnightCite - Online Citation Generator http://www.calvin.edu/library/knightcite/index.php

EasyBib - Online Citation Generator and Manager http://www.easybib.com/

BibMe - Online Citation Generator and Manager http://www.bibme.org/

Using Databases' Cite Function

If you find articles or other resources in Library databases, often the database will automatically generate the APA style bibliograpy entry for an article or other item.  If possible, do this when you find the article, as it may not be worth the time to pull it up in the database again later.

Example for Ebsco databases (including Psycinfo, Education Research Complete, etc.)

When you are in the record for an article or other item, click the "Cite" link in the right column.

location of "cite" link in record

This will bring up the bibliography entry for your article or other item, just after where it says APA (American Psychological Assoc.) References. You can copy and paste it to your paper.  

Bibliographic Management Software is discussed farther down this page.  You do not have to use it.  However, if you decide to download Bibliographic Management Software on your computer, this is where you could export your data from Ebsco into your software.

location of items mentioned above

If you use the "E-mail" link in an Ebsco database to email an article to yourself, you can email the APA style bibliography entry as shown.  A similar option is available if you use the "Save" link in an Ebsco database.

radio button for "citation format" selected, APA chosen in combo box

Bibliographic Management Software to Download

This software takes a little time to learn, but you may decide it's worth using if you expect to do many papers or long bibliographies.  Bibliographic Management Software allows you to add a plugin to Microsoft Word so that you can automatically generate in text citations as well as bibliographies. It is recommended to double check the style created by any bibliographic management software. The links below go to webpages that will help explain how to download and use the software.

RefWorks (SU subscription)

Mendeley

Zotero

Endnote Web

Why use a citation tool?

  • Gather and store references while you research
  • Format citations and papers instantly for class assignments, theses, and journal manuscripts
  • Create a personal research library of references, images, and PDFs
  • Share with colleagues around the world
  • Keep students on track with research projects
  • Simplify citing to avoid plagiarism issues

Contact citations@listserv.syr.edu for assistance with these tools

Citing Government Information in APA Style

The official resource for citing government information, such as laws and bills, is called the Bluebook.  It is a print book available on the 2nd floor of Bird library with call number KF 245 B58Other government document citation resources from SU's Government Documents Librarian .

However, if you are citing common government documents, the following may give you enough examples:

 
John Jay College of Criminal Justice How to Cite Legal Materials [pdf]


Indiana University Bloomington's Guide to Citing U.S. Government Publications
Note that the top of India's page says: "Include the following, as best you can, but always ask yourself if you would be able to lay hands on the document again using only the citation. If not, you may need to add more information and alter the form..." and they continue to offer examples of adding additional information in parenthesis at the end of the reference.

  • Citing Bills and Acts
    This is an example of a reference list.  Indiana's guide does not cover in text citations.

 

Examples from Cornell University's guide to APA Citation Style [https://www.library.cornell.edu/resrch/citmanage/apa]:

  • Government report, accessed online
    U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. (2005). Medicaid drug price comparisons: Average manufacturer price to published prices (OIG publication No. OEI-05-05- 00240). Washington, DC: Author. Retrieved from http://www.oig.hhs.gov/oei/reports/oei-05-05-00240.pdf
  • Government reports, GPO publisher, accessed online
    Congressional Budget Office. (2008). Effects of gasoline prices on driving behavior and vehicle markets: A CBO study (CBO Publication No. 2883). Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office. Retrieved from http://www.cbo.gov/ftpdocs/88xx/doc8893/01-14-GasolinePrices.pdf

DocsCite (University of Arizona)