Skip to main content

WRT 105 / 205 - Censorship 2017 (Fall 2017): Finding Sources in Library Databases

Topical Full Text Resources

The resources on the lists below will bring you to more specific, and often scholarly, souces that address your topic. You'll also find access to datasets, multimedia, and other types of resources among these resources. If you have questions or need help using any of these resources at any time, get in touch with a librarian. 

  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America.
  • GenderWatch
    Full-text publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
  • Alt-Press Watch
    Full text of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
  • PressReader (formerly Library PressDisplay)
    Full page scans of international newspapers from hundreds of countries around the world. Coverage includes the most recent 60 days only.
  • ProQuest News & Newspapers

    One stop search portal for multiple news and newspaper databases: AltPressWatch, Canadian Newsstream, Ethnic Newswatch, Gannett Newsstand, GenderWatch, US Newsstream and International Newsstream.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers are also included, with access to the complete seventy year run of the Chicago Defender and full page scans reaching back to the founding 19th century issues for the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post.

  • NewspaperArchive.com
    Search hundreds of newspapers (.pdf) by title and date or by keyword. Database includes the Syracuse Post Standard. Coverage for some papers goes back to the 1700's.

  • Black Studies Center
    Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion. and much more.
  • Black Thought and Culture : African Americans to 1975
    Collection of non-fiction writings by prominent black American figures, plus transcripts of their speeches, interviews, trials and other fugitive material.
  • Green File
    GreenFILE makes connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
  • Communication Source
    Combines Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts (formerly published by Sage), and includes many unique sources not previously available in other databases. Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Advertising, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
  • Social Sciences Full Text
    Covers the scholarly literature in sociology, social work, family studies, marriage and family therapy and more.
  • NexisUni
    Access more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790, together with extensive current and historical U.S. state and federal statutes, published court decisions and regulations. Registering for a free ID and password within the interface is recommended for those looking to take advantage of personalization features such as alerts, saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
  • JSTOR
    Full-text articles from over 1,300 journals in Language and Literature, African American Studies, Film Studies, British Studies, and Folklore and many other areas.

General Full Text Resources

Along with SUMMON, which helps you to locate full text articles (among many other things), you may want to choose another general/interdisciplinary database when searching for both popular and scholarly articles:

  • ProQuest Central
    From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects.

  • OmniFile Full Text MEGA from EBSCO
    Provides full text articles, with their accompanying indexing and abstracts, from the the majority of our Wilson periodical databases.

These resources search a variety of databases and reference sources to return a wide spectrum of scholarly and popular material, and they'll exclude the Book, DVD, Government Document, and other formats available via SUMMON. These resources feature primarily articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals.