Skip to main content

WRT 205 - Public Space (Summer 2016): Finding Sources in Library Databases

General Full Text Resources

Along with SUMMON, which helps you to locate full text articles (among many other things), you may want to choose another general/interdisciplinary database when searching for both popular and scholarly articles:

  • ProQuest Research Library
    From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects.

  • OmniFile Full Text MEGA from EBSCO
    Provides full text articles, with their accompanying indexing and abstracts, from the the majority of our Wilson periodical databases.

These resources search a variety of databases and reference sources to return a wide spectrum of scholarly and popular material, and they'll exclude the Book, DVD, Government Document, and other formats available via SUMMON. These resources feature primarily articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals.

Topical Full Text Resources

The resources on the lists below will bring you to more specific, and often scholarly, souces that address your topic. You'll also find access to datasets, multimedia, and other types of resouces among these resources. If you have questions or need help using any of these resources at any time, get in touch with a librarian.

  • Social Sciences Full Text
    covers sociology, social work, disability studies, family studies, marriage and family therapy and more.
     
  • International literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, disablility studies, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, gerontology, and linguistics.
     
  • Provides access to full text of more than 180 journals in sociology and social work, with coverage from 1985 to the present. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts.
     
  • Largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with smart tools to track, analyze, and visualize research
     
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
    The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture.
     
  • Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
     
  • Humanities Full Text provides full text of the most important scholarly sources in the humanities.
     
  • NexisUni
    Access more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790, together with extensive current and historical U.S. state and federal statutes, published court decisions and regulations. Registering for a free ID and password within the interface is recommended for those looking to take advantage of personalization features such as alerts, saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
     
  • Alt-Press Watch
    Full text of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.