Research Guides: Cultural Heritage Preservation: Home

Featured Resources and News

American Institute for Conservation of Historic & Artistic Works (AIC) U.S. national membership organization of conservation professionals dedicated to preserving the art and historic artifacts of cultural heritage for future generations.
Conservators Converse Blog Conservators Converse is the blog of the American Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works (AIC). We encourage AIC members and interested parties to join in on the conservation about what conservators do, how they do it and where they work.
Digital Pioneers Project Digital Pioneers is a project to document early innovations in the use of digitization in libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies in the words of the people who were an integral part of it all. Its purpose is not only to document these peoples’ experiences but also to compile and disseminate learning resources for LIS students and others interested in the evolution of the use and impact of digitization, digital materials and the Internet on cultural heritage institutions. These resources include valuable lessons for those currently in the field and those who will be joining it in the future.
Information Standards Quarterly Information Standards Quarterly (ISQ) is National Information Standards Organization’s (NISO's) print and electronic magazine for communicating standards-based technology and best practices in library, publishing, and information technology, particularly where these three areas overlap. ISQ reports on the progress of active developments and also on implementations, case studies, and best practices that show potentially replicable efforts.
Linked Data for Libraries, Archives & Museums National Information Standards Organization (NISO) themed Information Standards Quarterly (ISQ) issue on linked data.

Guides, Listservs, Blogs, & Organizations

American Alliance of Museums The American Alliance of Museums has been bringing museums together since 1906, helping to develop standards and best practices, gathering and sharing knowledge, and providing advocacy on issues of concern to the entire museum community. Representing more than 30,000 individual museum professionals and volunteers, institutions, and corporate partners serving the museum field, the Alliance stands for the broad scope of the museum community.
Association of Academic Museums and Galleries The Association of Academic Museums and Galleries is the leading educational and professional organization for academic museums, galleries, and collections. In recognition of the unique opportunities and challenges of its constituents, the AAMG establishes and supports best practices, educational activities and professional development that enable its member organizations to fulfill their educational missions.
Association of Academic Museums and Galleries Listserv The Association of Academic Museums and Galleries listserv. Features conversation between members and job postings.
Conservation & Preservation Resources Guide Guide by Peter Verheyen at Syracuse University Library with many great resources including listservs, blogs, & presentations.
H-Museum H-MUSEUM (founded 2001) is a moderated mailing list in the H-Net (Humanities and Social Sciences Online) for Museums and Museum Studies. Currently H-MUSEUM has more than 7000 subscribers from over 99 different countries (February 2010). The list addresses themes and questions primarily relating to museological topics. Museums are intended to be interdisciplinary, so that archaeological, historical, cultural and artistic information can be posted.
Society for American Archivists The Society for American Archivists (SAA) promotes the values and diversity of archives and archivists. We are the preeminent source of professional resources and the principal communication hub for American archivists.
U.S. National Park Service Employment Page Webpage with guidelines for seeking employment with the U.S. National Park Service.

Cultural History Resources (National & Global Sampling)

America Eats! from the Library of Congress In the 1930s the federal government, under the auspices of the Work Progress Administration (WPA), created the Federal Writers' Project to provide work for unemployed professionals during the depression. Shown here are six images produced for the "America Eats" project, depicting eating and cooking food at social gatherings such as picnics, barbecues, and food festivals in locations including California, Alabama, Arkansas, and Mississippi.
American Heritage Center University of Wyoming The American Heritage Center (AHC) is the University of Wyoming's repository of manuscript collections, rare books, and University archives. Our collections are the raw data of humanistic and interdisciplinary research. We are the laboratory for citizens and scholars to engage with primary sources in all formats that support the creation of historical narratives, interrogate the past, build community, and pose and answer questions about human experience.
City of Memory, A Story Map of New York City City of Memory is an online community map of personal stories and memories organized on a physical geographical map of New York City.
Getty Conservation Institute The Getty Conservation Institute works to advance conservation practice in the visual arts, broadly interpreted to include objects, collections, architecture, and sites. It serves the conservation community through scientific research, education and training, model field projects, and the broad dissemination of the results of both its own work and the work of others in the field.
StoryCorps StoryCorps’ mission is to preserve and share humanity’s stories in order to build connections between people and create a more just and compassionate world.
UNESCO: Cultural Heritage Portal
World Heritage Portal

Cultural History Resources (Local and Regional Sampling)

Matilda Joslyn Gage Foundation and Home The Matilda Joslyn Gage Foundation is dedicated to educating current and future generations about Gage’s work and its power to drive contemporary social change.
New York State Canal History
Erie Canal Museum Committed to preserving the only existing weighlock building in the United States, the Erie Canal Museum collects and conserves Canal material, champions an appreciation and understanding of Erie Canal history through educational programming and promotes an awareness of the Canal's transforming effects on the past, present and future.
Onondaga Historical Association Onondaga Historical Association (OHA) was formed in 1862 by community leaders and officially chartered in April of 1863 by an act of the New York State Legislature with the purpose of collecting and preserving historical, genealogical, scientific and literary material related to Onondaga County, New York.
Skä•noñh Great Law of Peace Center The Skä•noñh – Great Law of Peace Center is a Haudenosaunee (Iroquois) Heritage Center focused on telling the story of the native peoples of central New York.

Selected Databases

America: History & Life Articles, books and more covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada
American History in Video Archival commercial and governmental newsreels, documentaries covering American history. Includes footage from United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel.
Anthropology Plus Index to materials from the late 1800s to present in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies, from the Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute).
AnthroSource Articles from journals, newsletters, and bulletins published by the American Anthropological Society.
Art and Architecture Source Journals, books, and images covering fine arts, decorative and commercial art, architecture and architectural design.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America Index to journal articles, books, essays, government documents and more from the sixteenth century to the present covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life.
EHRAF World Cultures Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) index to documents related to ethnography and global cultures .
Library Literature and Information Science Full Text Journal articles covering library and information science topics, such as literacy, cataloging and classification, and library-related legislation and more.
Oral History Online Collection of oral history interviews.
Sociological Abstracts Index and abstracts to books and journal articles about sociology, social work, aging, gerontology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy and other social sciences.

Selected Journals & Reports

Archival Science

Collections: A Journal for Museum & Archives Professionals

Comma: International Journal on Archives

Common Ground: Archaeology and Ethnography in the Public Interest

Conservation Science in Cultural Heritage

e-Preservation Science

Flash (International Council on Archives)

Heritage and Society

Information Development

International Journal of Intangible Heritage

Journal of Cultural Heritage Management and Sustainable Development

J ournal of the Society of Archivis ts

Oral History Review

RBM : a journal of rare books, manuscripts, and cultural heritage

Subject Guide

Brenna Helmstutler

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Hi! As the liaison librarian for the School of Information Studies (iSchool), I assist students, faculty, and staff with library research queries. My general work hours are Monday-Friday, 8:00-3:30 Eastern.

I will be in Hinds iCafe' at the following dates on Wednesdays from 3:00-4:00 this semester:
-February 21
-March 27
-April 24

For additional help outside of my work hours or for immediate assistance, go to https://library.syracuse.edu/get-help for multiple contact options including live chat (available 24/7), text, and email.

Subjects: Information Technology, Library Science

Related Subject Guides

Anthropology and Archaeology
by Winn Wasson Last Updated Apr 3, 2024 140 views this year
Cultural Heritage Preservation
by Ann Skiold Last Updated Jan 4, 2024 32 views this year
Museum Studies Resource Guide
by Ann Skiold Last Updated Dec 19, 2023 40 views this year

Suggest a Title

Is there a resource you think should be added to this page? Or to the Libraries' collections? Please let Brenna know, or use the Suggest a Title request form.