English and Literature Resources: Reference Works

The sources listed in Online Reference Sources  provide you with searchable access background information and some criticism from hundreds of sources.

The sources listed in Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Guides in Print are books in you can find in Bird Library.

Guides

• Oxford Companion to English Literature. 7th ed.
  Dinah Birch
•  
• Oxford Companion to American Literature. 6th ed.
  James D. Hart and Phillip W. Leininger
•  
• The Oxford Companion to Australian Literature (2 ed.)
• William H. Wilde, Joy Hooton, and Barry Andrews


• The Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature (2 ed.)
• William Toye and Eugene Benson
•  
• Oxford Companion to Children's Literature.
  Daniel Hahn


• Oxford Companion to Irish Literature.
  Robert Welch


• Oxford Companion to New Zealand Literature.
  Roger Robinson and Nelson Wattie


 
• Contemporary American ethnic poets : lives, works, sources
  Bird-Reference, 2nd Floor
  PS153.M56 C66 2004


•  

Encyclopedias

•  
• Encyclopedia of post-colonial literatures in English
  Eugene Benson


• New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
  Terry V. F. Brogan, Alex Preminger


• Routledge Encyclopedia of Narrative Theory
  Manfred Jahn, Marie-Laure Ryan, David Herman


• Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
  Verity Smith


•  
•  

Guides

• Oxford Companion to English Literature. 6th ed.
  Bird-Reference, 2nd Floor
  REF PR 19 .D73 2006
  
  
  
• Oxford Companion to American Literature. 6th ed.
  Bird-5th Floor
  PS 21 .H3 1995
  
  
  
• Oxford Companion to African American Literature.
  Bird-Reference, 2nd Floor
  REF PS 153 .N5 O96 1997


• Oxford Companion to Australian Literature.
  Bird-5th Floor
  PR 9600.2 .W55 1994


• Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature.
  Bird-Reference, 2nd Floor
  PR9180.2 .C65 2001


• Oxford Companion to Children's Literature.
  Bird-Reference, 2nd Floor
  REF PN 1008.5 .C37 1984


• Oxford Companion to Irish Literature.
  Bird-Reference, 2nd Floor
  REF PR 8706 .O88 1996


• Oxford Companion to New Zealand Literature.
  Bird-5th Floor
  PR 9620.2 .O94 1998


• Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Literature in English.
  Bird-Reference, 2nd Floor
  REF PR 471 .O94 1996


• Contemporary American ethnic poets : lives, works, sources
  Bird-Reference, 2nd Floor
  PS153.M56 C66 2004


• Asian American short story writers : an A-to-Z guide
  Bird-Reference, 2nd Floor
  PS153.A84 A828 2003


• The Oxford companion to women's writing in the United States
  Bird-Reference, 2nd Floor
  PS147 .O94 1995


• Literary New York : a history and guide
  Bird-Reference, 2nd Floor
  PS144.N4 E3 1991


• Guide to British poetry explication
  Bird-Reference, 2nd Floor
  PR311 .M34 1991


• Jewish writers of the twentieth century
  Bird-Reference, 2nd Floor
  PN842 .J48 2003

Dictionaries

• American writers before 1800 : a biographical and critical dictionary
  Bird-Reference, 2nd Floor
  PS185 .A4


• The book of forms : a handbook of poetics
  Bird-Reference, 2nd Floor
  PN1042 .T78 2000


• The Longman dictionary of literary terms : vocabulary for the informed reader
  Bird-Reference, 2nd Floor
  PN44.5 .K46 2006


• Dictionary of Cultural Theorists
  Bird-Reference, 2nd Floor
  PN74 .D53 1999

Encyclopedias

• The Greenwood encyclopedia of multiethnic American literature
  Bird-Reference, 2nd Floor
  PS153.M56 G74 2005


• Encyclopedia of post-colonial literatures in English
  Bird-Reference, 2nd Floor
  PR9080.A52 E53 1994


• New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
  Bird-Reference, 2nd Floor
  PN1021 .N39 1993


• Encyclopedia of Literary Critics and Criticism
  Bird-Reference, 2nd Floor
  PN86 .E63 1999


• Encyclopedia of rhetoric and composition : communication from ancient times to the information age
  Bird-Reference, 2nd Floor
  PN172 .E53 1996


• Routledge Encyclopedia of Narrative Theory
  Bird-Reference, 2nd Floor
  PN212 .R68 2005


• Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
  Bird-Reference, 2nd Floor
  PQ7081.A1 E56 1997


•