Skip to main content

Disability Research at Special Collections Research Center: Citing your References

Citing Special Collections and Digital Collections

Many websites are available with information about citing special collections and digital resources.  The following are only a sample.  One consistent theme is that "There is no single perfect way to cite material discovered while researching in an archives. That's the nature of research using primary sources." (from the Michigan Tech website)

How to Cite Archival Materials (from the Purdue OWL)

How to Cite Digital Collections and Archives (from Tufts University)

How to Cite Archival Sources (from Michigan Technological University Archives)

SU Library Citation Guide (links to information and examples for MLA, APA, Chicago, CSE and additional styles)

The guidelines provided in the above links will need to be adapted to include SCRC or SU Archives attribution.  For most Finding Aids this information is found in the Administrative Information link.  Here are two examples:

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Rowley Family Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

and

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Burton Blatt Papers,
Syracuse University Archives

How to Cite an Alexander Street Press Video

When viewing an Alexander Street Press record, the Cite link is among the icons displayed below the video

Alexander St Press video icon display

Alternatively, when viewing a list of results,  mouse-over the title of the video until you see icons for various tools.  Click on Cite.

How to cite an ASP video

Select the citation style and cut and paste the reference.  You may also click on Export List to export the video reference to a citation management tool, such as EndNote or Refworks.

Citing References from a Database

Many of our databases provide the correct citation of a reference in one of the primary citation styles that you may then cut and paste into your paper.  Look for an icon and Cite label.  For example in ProQuest databases it will look like this: ProQuest cite icon;  in an EBSCO databases the Cite icon, EBSCO cite icon will be in the right column when you are viewing a result.

Using one of the Citation Management Tools is highly recommended.

Citing HathiTrust Documents

HathiTrust provides the document citation in either MLA or APA style that you can cut and paste. 

Click on the Catalog Record link associated with the record. HathTrust record

Then click on Cite this: HathiTrust cite this icon or click on the Export to EndNote link.