Skip to main content

Introductory Engineering and Computer Science Resources: Find Articles

Watch for the SULinks icon

SULinks logo

If you see this icon next to the record for an article in one of our databases, click on it to see if the full-text is available online through the library. If there is no full-text available, SULinks will also allow you to check the catalog for print holdings, or request your article through interlibrary loan.

Literature databases

     A good starting point for undergraduate research:

  • Applied Science and Technology Full Text
    Index to articles in engineering, technology and science journals from 1983

  • ProQuest Research Library
    For non-scholarly coverage of earth sciences topics, this interdisciplinary database also includes articles from trade journals, magazines, newspapers etc.




    The world's most comprehensive indexes to the engineering and computer science literature are available through Engineering Village:
  • Compendex
    The world's most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering literature database. Coverage from 1884. Updated weekly.

  • Inspec
    Produced by the IET in the UK, Inspec covers physics, electrical engineering, electronics, computer science, control engineering and information technology. Records from 1896. Updated weekly.



    Other important literature databases:


  • NTIS (National Technical Information Service)
    Unclassified reports from influential U.S. and international government agencies.

  • SciFinder
    The most comprehensive index to the chemistry literature, including chemical engineering, from 1907. Includes substance and reaction databases. Updated daily. NOTE: Follow instructions for downloading the desktop version, or registering for access to the web version.

  • Scopus
    The world's largest interdisciplinary literature database. Coverage from 1823. Records from 1996 forward include links to both cited and citing publications.

Your Librarian

Emily Hart's picture
Emily Hart