Skip to main content

Zotero: Cite

Create Bibliographies

Zotero has two ways to quickly create fully formatted bibliographies with citations in your library.

  1. Drag-and-drop - simply select items in the center column and drag them into any text field.  Citations are formatted in your default output style.
  2. Right click  - highlight one or more references and then right-click to select “Create Bibliography from Selected Item(s)," select a citation style for your bibliography format and create your bibliography in a RTF file, HTML file, save it to your clipboard or print it.

See more on creating bibliographies from Zotero.

RTF Scan

Do you use a word processer that doesn't have a plugin?  Do you know the date of the your citation off the top of your head?  Is the plugin slowing you down?  Zoter's RTF Scan is the answer for you.  Put your work in a RTF document, write the citations yourself, and tell Zotero where you want the bibliography and have Zotero do the rest of the work for you.

More on RTF Scan from Zotero.

Add Citations While You Write

Word processor plugins, available for Microsoft Word and OpenOffice/NeoOffice, create dynamic bibliographies: insert a new in-text citation in your manuscript, and the bibliography will be automatically updated to include the cited item. Correct the title of an item in your Zotero library and with a click of a button the change will be incorporated in your texts.

Zotero and Word

Zotero and Open Office

Video by Daniel de Byl.

Citation Help!

The Citation Managers Team is here to answer your questions or provide instruction in your classroom.  Email us at citations@listserv.syr.edu

LaTeX

Zoter is compatible with LaTeX. See MIT's directions for Using Zotero with LaTeX and BibTeX.

Citation Styles

Zotero comes with the most common bibliographic styles, but many more are available to download.

To install a Zotero style:

  1. Go to the Zotero Style Repository page in Firefox.
  2. Search for the name of the style you need.
  3. Click the Install link next to the style, then the Install button to confirm.

The new style will appear in Zotero's style lists.