Skip to main content
Subject Guides - Syracuse University Libraries

Religion: World Religions

Religion

Christianity and Catholicism

The Anchor Bible dictionary (v.1-6)

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BS440 .A54 1992


A brief history of the Episcopal Church : with a chapter on the Anglican Reformation and an appendix on the annulment of Henry VIII

Bird 2nd Floor - BX5880 .H74 1993


Butler's Lives of the saints (v.1-4)

Bird 2nd Floor Reference / 4th Floor, Fine Arts Reference – BX4654 .B8 1981


Catholic Biblical encyclopedia (v.1-2)

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BS440 .C36


The Complete concordance to the Bible, New King James Version

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BS425 .C65 1983


Cyclopedia of Biblical, theological, and ecclesiastical literature (v.1-2)

Bird 2nd Floor – BR95 .M352


The Eerdmans analytical concordance to the Revised Standard Version of the Bible

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BS425 .W48 1988


The episcopacy in American Methodism

Bird 2nd Floor - BX8345 .K57 2000


Encyclopedia of Christianity

Bird 2nd Floor – BR95 .E47 2005


The genesis of Methodism

Bird 2nd Floor - BX8231 .D74 1999


Historical dictionary of Methodism

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BX8211 .H57 1996


Historical dictionary of the Orthodox Church

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BX230 .P76 1996


An introduction to world Methodism

Bird 2nd Floor – BX8231 .C73 2005

The living Bible, paraphrased : a thought-for-thought translation

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BS550.2 .T38 1971B


Mercer dictionary of the Bible

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BS440 .M429 1990


Nave's topical Bible; a digest of the Holy Scriptures; more than twenty thousand topics and subtopics, over one hundred thousand references to the Scriptures

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BS432 .N3 1971


Nelson's complete concordance of the New American Bible

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BS425 .N36


New Catholic encyclopedia (v.1-15)

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BX841 .N44 2003


The New Strong's Concordance of the Bible : a popular edition of the exhaustive concordance

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BS425 .S82 1985


New Testament abstracts (v.1-54)

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BS410 .N532


Old Testament abstracts (v.1-33)

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BS410 .O42


The New Interpreter's Bible : general articles & introduction, commentary, & reflections for each book of the Bible, including the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical books (v.1-11)

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BS491.2 .N484 1994


The Oxford guide to ideas & issues of the Bible

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BS440 .O94 2001


The Oxford guide to people and places of the Bible

Electronic Resource


Roget's thesaurus of the Bible

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BS440 .R64 1992


Yearbook of American and Canadian churches (1973-2011)

Bird 2nd Floor – BR513 .Y4

Judaism

The Blackwell companion to Judaism

Bird 2nd Floor - BM42 .B54 2000


Historical dictionary of Judaism

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BM50 .S65 2006


An introduction to Judaism

Bird 2nd Floor - BM562 .D378 2010


The new encyclopedia of Judaism

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BM50 .E63 2002


Reader's guide to Judaism

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BM50 .R43 2000


Tanakh : a new translation of the Holy Scriptures according to the traditional Hebrew text

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BS896.A1 P45 1985


The Torah : a modern commentary

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BS1225.3 .P55

Other Religions

Scientology

Bird 2nd Floor – BP605.S2 S29 2009


Scientology : the fundamentals of thought

Bird 2nd Floor – BP605.S2 H8356 1988

Middle Eastern Studies

Development of Islamic religion and philosophy in India

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BP63.I4 D48 2009


The encyclopaedia of Islam

Electronic Resource


Encyclopedia of Islamic civilization and religion

Bird 2nd Floor – BP40 .E526 2008


The Grove encyclopedia of Islamic art and architecture (v.1-3)

Bird 4th Floor, Fine Arts Reference – N6260 .G75 2009


Historical dictionary of Islam

Bird 2nd Floor – BP50 .A33 2009


Interpreting the Qur'an : a guide for the uninitiated

Bird 2nd Floor – BP130 .B42 2010


Interpreting the Qur'an : a guide for the uninitiated

Bird 2nd Floor – BP130 .B42 2010


Islam, Judaism, and the political role of religions in the Middle East

Bird 2nd Floor – DS44 .I78 2004


Opening the Qur'an : introducing Islam's holy book

Bird 2nd Floor – BP130.4 .W24 2008


The Qur'an : an encyclopedia

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BP133 .Q87 2006


The Qurʾan : a new translation

Bird 2nd Floor – BP109 2008


Religion in modern Islamic discourse

Bird 2nd Floor – BP161.3 .T394 2009

Native American Studies

Encyclopedia of Native American religions : an introduction

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – E98.R3 H73 2000


Historical dictionary of Native American movements

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – E93 .L43 2008

South Asian Studies

Buddhism in world cultures : comparative perspectives

Bird 2nd Floor – BQ316 .B85 2006


Development of Islamic religion and philosophy in India

Bird 2nd Floor - BP63.I4 D48 2009


A dictionary of Hinduism

Electronic Resource

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BL1105 .J65 2009


Encyclopedia of Hinduism

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BL1105 .E53 2008


Essentials of Buddhism and Jainism : the Avaidikadarśanasagraha of Gagādharavājapeyayājī

Bird 2nd Floor – B162 .V2513 2003


Historical dictionary of Buddhism

Bird 2nd Floor – BQ130 .P74 2009


Identity and religion : foundations of anti-Islamism in India

Bird 2nd Floor - DS432.M84 M57 2004


Introducing Buddhism

Bird 2nd Floor - BQ266 .P74 2010


Jainism : a pictorial guide to the religion of non-violence

Bird 2nd Floor – BL1351.2 .T58 1998


Jainism : an Indian religion of salvation

Bird 2nd Floor – BL1350 .G513 1999


Religion, caste, and politics in India

Bird 2nd Floor - BL1215.P65 J34 2011


Religion and nationalism in India : the case of the Punjab

Bird 2nd Floor - DS485.P87 D44 2000


Religion and the specter of the West : Sikhism, India, postcoloniality, and the politics of translation

Bird 2nd Floor - BL2018.5.P64 M36 2009


Rethinking religion in India : the colonial construction of Hinduism

Bird 2nd Floor – BL1151.5 .R48 2010


The Shambhala dictionary of Taoism

Bird 2nd Floor – BL1923 .S48 1996

East Asian Studies

The A to Z of Shinto

Bird 2nd Floor – BL2216.1 .P53 2006


Historical dictionary of Taoism

Bird 2nd Floor – BL1923 .P37 1998


Japanese Rinzai Zen Buddhism : Myōshinji, a living religion / by Jørn Borup

Bird 2nd Floor – BQ9365.4 .B67 2008


A popular dictionary of Shinto

Bird 2nd Floor – BL2216.1 .B63 1997


Taoism : the enduring tradition

Bird 2nd Floor – BL1920 .K57 2004


Taoism : growth of a religion

Bird 2nd Floor – BL1910 .R63 1997


Zen Buddhism and Hasidism : a comparative study

Bird 2nd Floor – BQ9269.4.H37 T47 1995