Skip to main content

Religion: Reference and Collection Development

Religion

Reference Assistance

 

For reference assistance as well as collection development, please contact  Lydia Wasylenko

lwwasyle@syr.edu

315.443.4692

 

Print Indexes

New Testament Abstracts. Cambridge, MA: Weston School of Theology.

Bird 2nd Floor Reference - BS410. N532

Old Testament Abstracts. Washington: Catholic Biblical Association of America.

Bird 2nd Floor Reference - BS410. O42

Core Reference Works

Specialized Reference Works

The Cambridge companion to science and religion

Bird 2nd Floor – BL241 .C317 2010


The concise Oxford dictionary of world religions

Electronic Resource

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BL31 .O84 2000


Encyclopedia of African and African-American religions

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BL2462.5 .E53 2001


Encyclopedia of philosophers on religion

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – B104 .V47 2008


The encyclopedia of religion and nature (v.1-2)

Bird 2nd Floor Reference - BL31 .E465 2005


Encyclopedia of sacred places

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BL580 .B76 1997


Religion past & present : encyclopedia of theology and religion (v.1-10)

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BL31 .R4213 2007


World religions today

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BL80.2 .E76 2006

Religious Texts

The Book of Mormon, another testament of Jesus Christ / translated by Joseph Smith

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BX8623 1986

Versions of the Bible

Bible - King James “Authorized” Version

Electronic Resource


The Catholic Bible : New American Bible including the revised Psalms and the revised New Testament

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BS192.3 .A1 1995 .N49


The Holy Bible containing the Old and New Testaments translated out of the original tongues

Electronic Resource


The Holy Bible: New King James version

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BS185 1982 N37 1982


The Holy Bible: translated from the Latin Vulgate

Bird 4th Floor, Fine Arts Limited Access / Fine Arts Reference – BS180 1971


The New American Bible

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BS192.3.A1 P3


The New English Bible; New Testament

Bird 2nd Floor Reference – BS192 A1 1972.N42


The New Scofield Reference Bible

Bird 2nd Floor Floor Reference – BS185 1967 N4