Skip to main content
Step #2 -- Find scholarly research
- Look for research articles from reputable journals using the library's databases
- Time and Newsweek are NOT research journals
- Alcohol Research and Health and the International Journal of Behavioral Medicine ARE
- Use the thesaurus (if available)
- Use alternative terms (synonyms)
- Use subject headings/descriptors
- Put phrases in quotations
- Search by document type
- Search by methodology
- Look at references for an article you like to find similar ones
- Limit to research articles in document type (if available)
- Limit by methodology (e.g. study) (if available)
Suggested databases for Health Psychology
International literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, gerontology, and linguistics. 1887 - present; updated monthly.
Provides full text access, citations and abstracts to articles from journals published by APA, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. Coverage for most journals begins with 1985, others have only more recent years.
- Cochrane Library
Provides access to evidence-based resources related to healthcare. Titles in this collection include: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; Cochrane Methodology Register; Health Technology Assessment Database; and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
PsychiatryOnline is a powerful web-based portal that features DSM 5, as well as The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc. It includes numerous textbooks, American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines, and self-assessment tools, as well as clinical and research news and medication information handouts.
The world's largest interdisciplinary literature database. Includes the complete contents of Medline. From 1960, but records from 1996 forward include links to both cited and citing publications for all types of literature.
From the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), this database provides access to over 18 million citations from MEDLINE as well as other life sciences journals. Coverage goes back to 1948.