Skip to main content

Reaxys: Using Reaxys

Reaxys is a unique web-based chemistry database consisting of deeply excerpted compounds and related factual properties, reaction and synthesis information as well as bibliographic data, navigated and displayed via an actionable interface.

Beilstein or Gmelin

What compounds does Reaxys cover?

The Beilstein and Gmelin file segments complement each other and cover different elements in the periodic table. The Beilstein file covers compounds of carbon with the elements shown in white:

Gmelin covers compounds without carbon; elemental and inorganic carbon, CO, CO2, carbonic acid, and carbides; pure elements, alloys, and compounds containing metallic elements shown in green, including inorganic, organometallic, and coordination compounds thereof; plus glasses, ceramics, minerals and some polymers.

In general, organic polymers, peptides, biological molecules, and mixtures are not included in Reaxys. For current counts of compounds and reactions included in Reaxys, click the About Reaxys link from any page.

Structure Editor

Reaxys Structure Editor Plugins (version 1.8) - download here

This archive contains the installer for the Reaxys Structure Editor Plugins which need to be installed if editors other than ChemAxon's Marvin Sketch are used. Reaxys currently supports the following editors:

  • Symyx ISIS/Draw (version 2.5 or higher; connection software included in Reaxys Structure Editor plugin)
  • Symyx Draw (version 3.0 or higher; connection software included in Reaxys Structure Editor plugin)
  • CrossFire Structure Editor (version 7.0 or higher; connection software included in Reaxys Structure Editor plugin)
  • CambridgeSoft ChemDraw (version 11 or higher; connection software NOT included in plugin. Please refer to CambridgeSoft's download site here to get the installer)
  • InfoChem ICEdit (version 1.8 or higher; connection software NOT included in plugin. Please refer to InfoChem's website here for instructions explaining how to get ICEdit connected to Reaxys)

Please download the Reaxys plugin archive, extract the content and either run the executable setup or the MSIE installer (choose the installer which best suits your requirements). The archive also comes with a Readme text file which explains some more details on the plugins. If you want to use Reaxys with ChemDraw or ICEdit then please also download and install the corresponding connection software after you have installed the Reaxys structure editor plugins.

Please note: you need to have administration rights on your computer to install the plugins.