Skip to main content

Research Tools for Student-Athletes: Recommended Databases

Recommended Databases to Get Started on General Topics

Refer to the multidisciplinary databases listed below to begin your research.

Humanities Full Text

Index and abstracts to 465 periodicals in archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, music, philosophy, religion, and more.

OmniFile Full-Text Mega

Indexes to full text, and abstracted records from H.W. Wilson Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, and Wilson Full Text. Includes US and international professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines.

ProQuest Central

Serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Over 160 subjects are covered, including business and economics, health and medical, technology, social sciences and more. It is also the largest multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text.

 

Subject Specific Databases

Nexis Uni

A full-text database, providing access to hundreds of national and regional newspapers, as well as business information and legal cases.

PsycINFO

International literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, and more.

Social Sciences Full-Text

This index contains abstracts in sociology, social work, child and family studies and other social sciences.

SPORTDiscus

Covers the practical and research literature for all aspects of sports, leisure, and physical fitness. Subjects covered include sports medicine, exercise physiology, training, coaching, physical education, and more. *4 simultaneous users only.

Need Help?

For general research questions, library hours, and services, just Ask Us!

For in-depth research assistance and subject related questions, contact a a subject librarian.