Skip to main content

Aging- Web guides, Organizations, Gov Agencies, Statistics: Statistics

Includes Databases, Government Sources, Organizations, Statistics, Videos/DVDs for Aging

Statistics

AGing Integrated Database (AGID)
Provides access to data-at-a-glance, state profiles, custom tables, data files, and surveys aggregated from the ACL-Related Files and Census.

AgingStats.gov- Key Indicators of Well Being

Health and Retirement Survey
The "Health and Retirement Study (HRS) surveys more than 22,000 Americans over the age of 50 every two years. Supported by the National Institute on Aging (NIA U01AG09740), the study paints an emerging portrait of an aging America's physical and mental health, insurance coverage, financial status, family support systems, labor market status, and retirement planning.HRS data products are available without cost to researchers and analysts. User Registration is required in order to download files."

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Statistics and Data
"Broad range of quantitative information on Medicare's programs, from estimates of future Medicare and Medicaid spending to enrollment, spending, and claims data. CMS also offers a broad range of consumer research to help its partners and staff."

National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging
"The National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA), located within ICPSR, is funded by the National Institute on Aging. NACDA acquires and preserves data relevant to gerontological research, processing as needed to promote effective research use, disseminates them to researchers, and facilitates their use." Some data is available online and some is available via ICPSR in Bird Library Media Services.

National Center for Health Statistics- Aging Activities- Trends in Health and Aging
Aging Activities is at the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) of Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Aging Activities' mission is to perform research and analysis and to disseminate data on the health and health care utilization of aging Americans. The website includes "Data Warehouse on Trends in Health and Aging," a collection of data tables providing information on trends of health and health care use by older Americans (viewable online), and "Longitudinal Studies of Aging," a family of surveys designed to measure changes in health status, health-related behaviors, health care utilization, and the causes and consequences of these changes within and across two cohorts of elderly Americans (data is not online but CD-ROM's of the data are available in Bird Library's Maps and Government Information Department).

US Census Bureau: Age & Sex Composition 2010
National, State, and County levels.

American Fact Finder
Allows you to search data from decennial census, American Community Survey and more.