Skip to main content

Aging- Web guides, Organizations, Gov Agencies, Statistics: Organizations

Includes Databases, Government Sources, Organizations, Statistics, Videos/DVDs for Aging

Organizations

AARP (American Association of Retired Persons)
Full text interviews from the AARP Bulletin, special features from Modern Maturity, consumer factsheets, etc.

AARP International Affairs
Highlights of the site include a monthly column called "New Perspectives," international news, and links to international conferences, periodicals, and seniors organizations, among others.

Alzheimers Association

Alzheimers Association's mission is "to eliminate Alzheimer's disease through the advancement of research; to provide and enhance care and support for all affected; and to reduce the risk of dementia through the promotion of brain health."  The website includes a section for professionals and researchers.

American Society on Aging
News of the day; feature articles on wide variety of subjects pertaining to aging. ASA is a nonprofit organization.

Generations United

Generations United describes itself as "the catalyst that brings single-age focused groups together to build and support a common agenda while providing a unique voice in public debate."  The website includes full text of Generations United magazine, Together; various publications, bibliographies, and information about GU's programs, public policies and online chat and message forum. 

Gerontological Society of America
Information on grants, fellowships, legislation, and policy updates. Links to other organizations, interest groups.

Rosalynn Carter Institute for Caregiving

"Through research, education, and training, the RCI promotes the mental health and well-being of individuals, families, and professional caregivers; promulgates effective caregiving practices; builds public awareness of caregiving needs; and advances public and social policies that enhance caring communities."  The website includes brochures, reports, news, and information about the Institute's programs.

Urban Institute: Publications on Retirees/Seniors
"The Urban Institute is a nonprofit nonpartisan policy research and educational organization established to examine the social, economic, and governance problems facing the nation. It provides information and analysis to public and private decision makers to help them address these challenges and strives to raise citizen understanding of the issues and tradeoffs in policy making." Text of the reports is available on the website.

Wayne State University Institute of Gerontology

"The Institute of Gerontology dedicates research in the social and behavioral sciences and cognitive neuroscience to issues of aging and urban health." The website includes descriptions of current and past research on lifespan cognitive neuroscience, health disparities, and disability.