Skip to main content

Aging- Web guides, Organizations, Gov Agencies, Statistics: Government Sources

Includes Databases, Government Sources, Organizations, Statistics, Videos/DVDs for Aging

Government Sources

US Dept of Health and Human Services
According to their website "The Department of Health and Human Services is the United States government's principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves." It includes more than 300 programs. Their website includes an extensive section on aging, which links to agency for healthcare research and quality, CDC, NIH, NLM, AOA, Medline, etc. It is the umbrella organization for the following agencies and programs:

On April 18, 2012, the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) created a new organization, the Administration for Community Living (ACL). ACL brings together the efforts and achievements of the Administration on Aging, the Administration on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, and the HHS Office on Disability to serve as the Federal agency responsible for increasing access to community supports, while focusing attention and resources on the unique needs of older Americans and people with disabilities across the lifespan. "Within the Administration for Community Living, the Administration on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (AIDD) will continue to implement programs under the Developmental Disabilities Assistance and Bill of Rights Act, and the Administration on Aging (AoA) will continue to operate Older American Act programs." citation first accessed 1/13/2014 and link modified 8/7/17.
 

AHRQ's mission is to support research designed to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans. The website includes links to press releases and research findings back to January 2000.

HRSA works to improve and extend life for people living with HIV/AIDS, provide primary health care to medically under served people, serve women and children through State programs, and train a health workforce that is both diverse and motivated to work in under served communities

Medicare is part of Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. Includes Nursing Home Compare, which rates nursing homes for quality. Also includes information comparing medicare plans, medigap, and prescription drug assistance programs.

Programs, publications, press releases, budget updates, employment and training info, links to related sites.

New York State Office for the Aging
Toll-free hotlines, local offices, public forums, Eldercare Locator service (nationwide), articles from Aging News Newsletter, facts & figures, legislation news, etc.

Social Security Administration
This website, mostly geared for consumers, includes many resources for researchers and a history of the organization and the program.