Skip to main content

General Reference Collection: Biographies

Syracuse University Library's online reference collection.

Biographical Sources from Credo

Credo offers hundreds of specialized biographical reference sources covering the past and present.  Examples of general biographical sources:

Biographical Sources from the Internet Public Library

The iPL provides access to over 90 biographical resources.  Browse the IPL Biographies

Biographical Reference Sources

 

American National Biography

Biographical dictionary of about 17,500 notable American men and women from all eras of American history who are no longer alive. Includes illustrations and hypertext links to other web resources. Search American National Biography Online

 

 


 

Biographies Plus Illustrated

Full-text articles from biographical reference books published by H. W. Wilson, including all volumes of Current Biography, the World Author Series, Nobel Prize Winners, World Artists, World Film Directors, American Reformers, and biographical books on musicians and composers from throughout history. Search Biographies Plus Illustrated

 

 


 

Contemporary Authors

A bio-bibliographical guide, CA covers more than 100,000 current writers in a wide range of media, including: current writers of fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, and drama; prominent print and broadcast journalists, editors, photojournalists, syndicated cartoonists, screenwriters, television scriptwriters, and other media people; authors who write in languages other than English, provided their works have been published in the United States or translated into English; and literary greats of the early twentieth century whose works are popular in today's high school and college curriculums and continue to elicit critical attention.

Search Contemporary Authors