Skip to main content
Subject Guides - Syracuse University Libraries

General Reference Collection: Dictionaries & Thesauri

Syracuse University Library's online reference collection.

Bilingual Dictionaries from Credo Reference

Credo Reference also offers full-text bilingual dictionaries for French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, Welsh, and more. 

 

 View the list of bilingual dictionaries from Credo.

English and Foreign Language Dictionaries From the IPL

Over 180 dictionaries and thesauri are available from the Internet Public Library.  Browse their collection

Dictionaries and Thesauri

OED

Traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers etymological analysis, variant spellings, and it shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.

Search the Oxford English Dictionary

 


 

Middle English Compendium

Three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as links to an associated network of electronic resources.

Connect to the Middle English Compendium