Skip to main content

Resources Available after Graduation (Social Work): Open Access Citation Databases

Open Access Citation Databases (most including some full text)

American Factfinder
Vendor/Publisher? U.S. Census Bureau
Full text? yes
Formats indexed? statistics
Dates of coverage? see historical census back to 1790
Description? gateway to find demographic and economic information, data, and maps from U.S. Federal decennial censuses and the American Community Survey

Child Welfare Information Gateway
Vendor/Publisher? Administration for Children & Families
Full text?  Some
Formats indexed?  Print and electronic publications, websites, and online databases
Description? Child Welfare Information Gateway promotes the safety, permanency, and well-being of children and families by professionals as well as concerned citizens to timely, essential information. The site provides coverage of a wide range of topics from prevention to permanency, including child welfare, child abuse and neglect, adoption, search and reunion, and more.

Eric 
Vendor/Publisher? Education Resources Information Center
Full text? Some
Formats indexed?  journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, standards and guidelines
Dates of coverage? 1966 to the present
Description? Useful for social work in educational settings and any topics pertaining to children.
Updated monthly.

NCJRS
Vendor/Publisher? U.S. Department of Justice
Full text?  Some
Formats indexed?  U.S. and international research reports, published papers, books, articles, and audio-visual presentations
Dates of coverage? most date from 1960's to present
Description?  The NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) database covers all aspects of law enforcement and criminal justice including: police; courts; corrections; juvenile justice; community crime prevention; criminal justice system; fraud, waste, and abuse in government programs. Topic coverage ranges from preliminary research to detailed descriptions of successful programs.

PubMed
Vendor/Publisher? U.S. Government
Full text?  Some
Formats indexed? books, journals, more
Dates of coverage?   back to the mid-1960's
Description?  PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations and additional life science journals.