Skip to main content

Resources Available after Graduation (Social Work): Collections/Platforms of Journals

Collections/Platforms of Journals (all freely available full text)

Bentham Open Science Journals-

Peer reviewed? yes
Can you search across the journals at once? no
Ads on page? Yes, for Bentham
All freely available? yes
Funding? Bentham Open offers affordable article -processing fees, ranking amongst the lowest as compared to those of other open access journal publishers. An article-processing fee payable by the author/ author's institution applies for every accepted article, to cover the costs incurred by open access publication. Members of Bentham Open are entitled to discounted article - processing fees.
Description: All articles are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication.  Articles are licensed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution non-commercial License which permits unrestricted, non-commercial use, distribution and reproduction in any medium, providing that the work is properly cited. All submitted articles undergo a fast but rigorous peer-review procedure, followed by prompt submission of an article for publication.  Authors publishing with Bentham Open retain the copyright to their work.
Social Work related journals (selected):

Clinical Practice & Epidemiology in Mental Health

The Ergonomics Open Journal

The Open Public Health Journal

The Open Family Studies Journal

The Open Psychology Journal

 

Directory of Open Access Journals 

Peer reviewed? exercise quality control on submitted papers through an editor, editorial board and/or a peer-review system.
Can you search across the journals at once? yes
Ads on page? no
All freely available? yes
Funding? partly funded by Lund University Libraries Head Office. 
Description: a service that provides access to quality controlled Open Access Journals. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use an appropriate quality control system, and it will not be limited to particular languages or subject areas. The aim of the Directory is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.
Social Work related journals (selected):
As of December 2009, 25 journals are listed under the subject “Social and Public Welfare.”  The journals represent a variety of countries and languages.  Most are not listed in the individual journals section of this document.

 

SSRN (Social Sciences Research Network) 

Peer reviewed? Not all
Can you search across the journals at once? yes
Ads on page? no
All freely available? yes
Funding? The Social Science Research Network is produced by Social Science Electronic Publishing Inc. (SSEP). SSEP is an independent privately held corporation. Michael C. Jensen is the Chairman of SSEP; Gregory J. Gordon is the President of SSEP.
Description: Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a world wide collaborative of over 800 leading scholars that is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research. It is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. Each of SSRN's networks encourages the early distribution of research results by reviewing and distributing submitted abstracts and by soliciting abstracts of top quality research papers around the world. The Networks encourage readers to communicate directly with other subscribers concerning their own and other's research. Through our email abstracting journals we currently reach over 163,000 people in approximately 70 different countries. SSRN supports the Open Access movement by providing free submissions to and downloads from the SSRN eLibrary.
Social Work related journals (selected): Journals are categorized into “networks”, which can be browsed.  Networks that are partially relevant to social work include Health Economics Network and  Social Insurance Research Network.

 

University of California eScholarship repository:

Peer reviewed? Some
Can you search across the journals at once? yes
Ads on page? no
All freely available? yes
Funding? California Digital Library
Description: eScholarship provides a suite of open access, scholarly publishing services and research tools that enable departments, research units, publishing programs, and individual scholars associated with the University of California to have direct control over the creation and dissemination of the full range of their scholarship.  Includes journals, books, working papers, conference proceedings, paper/seminar series, and previously published materials .
Social Work related journals and content (selected):