Skip to main content

Latin American Studies: Primary Source Materials

Other Links to Primary Sources

Repositories of Primary Sources on Latin America and the Caribbean
A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.

Tango in Argentina

SU Libraries Databases for Primary Sources

Hathi Trust Digital Library
HathiTrust Digital Library is the product of the HathiTrust, a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working together to preserve our cultural record of print materials.

Manuscripts on Latin American topics - Syracuse University Libraries' Special Collections Research Center

 Carlos Davila, Chilean diplomat, journalist, author. http://library.syr.edu/digital/guides/d/davila_c.htm

 Larry Allen, American journalist specializing in Latin America, http://library.syr.edu/digital/guides/a/allen_l.htm 

 Clifford Wight collection re: Diego Rivera  http://library.syr.edu/digital/guides/w/wight_rivera.htm

Grove Press Records Collection  http://library.syr.edu/digital/guides/g/grove_press.htm

SU's literacy collections (e.g. Laubach, LVA) have material relating to literacy, and teaching of same, in Mexico and other Latin American countries.

Selected Printed Works in Latin American Studies - Syracuse University Libraries' Special Collections Research Center

Author:   Scott, W. Payne
Title:      The Latin American proceeding
Call Number: JK21 .I574 no.13 1949

 

 Author:   Conrad, Joseph, 1857-1924.
Title:      Nostromo : a tale of the seaboard / by Joseph Conrad
Call Number:   PR 6005 .O4 N58 1904

 

Author:   Lilly Library (Indiana University, Bloomington)
Title:     Indians of Latin America : an exhibition of materials in  the Lilly Library / by Rebecca Campbell Gibson   and Roger E. Beckman.
Call Number:     Z6676 .I5 no

 

Author:  Fiske, John, 1842-1901.
Title:    The discovery of America
Call Number:  E101 .F545 1892

 

Author:  Lombardo Toledano, Vicente, 1894-1968.
Title:    What does the C.T.A.L. mean? : "Latin American federation of labor" 1944 / Vicente Lombardo Toledano.
Call Number:  Browder L842 W55 1944

 

Author:  Lombardo Toledano, Vicente, 1894-1968.
Title     The San Francisco conference and the peoples of Mexico and Latin America
Call Number:     Browder L842 S19 1945

 

 Author:  Crichton, Kyle, 1896-1960.
Title:     The proud people : a novel / by Kyle Crichton.
Call Number:  PS3505.R635 P7 1944

 

Teotihuacan - Mexico

ASK US! Syracuse University Librarians

Bonnie Ryan, Latin American Studies Subject Specialist

For research assistance in areas related to Latin American Studies, contact one of our subject specialist librarians.

African Diaspora, Anthropology, Sociology:
Bonnie Ryan

Geography & Maps:
John Olson

History:
Lydia Wasylenko

International Relations:
Michael Pasqualoni

Linguistics:
Patrick Williams

Spanish Language & Literature:
Ann Skiold

Marty Hanson, Bibliographer for Social Sciences and Area Studies