Newspaper Databases

Use links in this guide's menu bar to browse SU Libraries newspaper database options for Local, National, and International news.  Or, if seeking a specific newspaper title use the 'journal title' search box in the library's 'classic catalog.'  See also, the link on this home page to the A to Z list of all News & Newspaper databases available via SU Libraries.

Ask Us! Live Chat

Call Us: 315-443-4083

Text Us: 315-464-0744

Email us: libref@syr.edu

Find a librarian

Report an Electronic Resource Issue

Policy on Access to Licensed Web Resources

Suggest a Title

OR - Visit

• A to Z list of News & Newspaper databases available via SU Libraries

Short videos sharing access points for the New York Times and Wall Street Journal

• Thanks to Jess Van (Newhouse School '26) for creating these videos

Since Fall of 2020, Syracuse University and Advance Media have an agreement in place offering exclusive access behind the Syracuse.com paywall, available to all current SU students, faculty and staff.  An excellent access point to digital journalism covering the Syracuse and Central New York Region.

To activate that Syracuse.com access, use these websites

• SU Students: https://www.syracuse.com/digitalsubscription/sustudent/
• SU Faculty/Staff: https://www.syracuse.com/digitalsubscription/sufaculty/

Troubleshooting account problems:  This is not access managed by Syracuse University Libraries.  When addressing account registration problems, consult Syracuse.com's page for digital subscription FAQs. For problem solving not addressed there, Syracuse.com offers these options for getting further help - 

Syracuse.com Customer Care Email:  digitalservice@syracuse.com 
Syracuse.com Customer Care Telephone Numbers:  1-315-470-6397, or toll free at - 1-800-765-3231

• For deep archival access to newspaper article text for the Syracuse Post-Standard, as well as other Syracuse newspapers active at one time but no longer published, visit the database, Syracuse News Sources (aka:  Newsbank) [coverage is mid 1980s up to the present] and/or NewspaperArchive [a deeper archive of fully page imaged Syracuse newspapers, covering recent dates and reaching back to the 19th Century.  Beyond Syracuse, NewspaperArchive offers historical newspaper titles for many other cities and towns in New York State.]

Access World News Access Tip:  Access World News (Newsbank) has been expanding its range of full page imaged newspaper archives of current and recent content, with titles like The Guardian, The Independent, and more local to the SU Hill, Syracuse Post-Standard.  A handy way to see all such page imaged newspaper collections from the Access World News homepage is to click on the A-Z Source List, then click on the column heading for "Format" so that the format type called "image" sorts the page imaged newspaper titles toward the top of that A to Z list.

For options available to access the digital New York Times online, see the New York Times Guide.

Syracuse University students and faculty have access to a number of indexes and full-text article databases that include New York Times coverage, including:

ProQuest (1980- present; plus older page imaged historical NYT content)
*Article text only for recent decades, but also includes content classified as "historical newspapers," covering NYT fully page imaged newspapers  dating back to the founding issues of that publication in the 19th Century

ProQuest Recent Newspapers:  The New York Times (2008 - recent; 3 month embargo)
*Contains NYT newspaper page images typically excluded from many other article text only databases (including photos, charts, advertising, maps, etc.).  Three month embargo between current date and most recent available page scans.  For article content from the New York Times within those more recent 3 month recent timeframes, consult other databases (e.g., ProQuest or Nexis Uni, etc.) or visit the New York Times Guide for Digital NYT access

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851 - recent years)
*Contains NYT newspaper page scans covering the founding of the publication in 1851 thru to more recent years, up thru four years of the current date on an annual rolling recency archival basis.  For recent page imaging to within 3 months of the current date, consult ProQuest Recent  Newspapers:  The New York Times