Skip to main content

Victorian Studies: Manuscripts, Archives & Early Editions

This guide to Victorian Studies was originated by David Oldenkamp, Wendy Bousfield and Professor Linda Shires.

On this page...

You'll find resources for locating rare and primary materials from the Victorian period.

Manuscripts, Archives, and Early Editions

ArchiveGrid

Finding aid for historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world.

British Library Catalog

British Library Catalogues on the Web.

The National Union Catalog, Pre-1956 Imprints; A Cumulative Author List Representing Library of Congress Printed Cards and Titles Reported by Other American Libraries  London, Mansell, 1968-1981

Coverage includes libraries in the United States and Canada. This work is the centerpiece for verification of books and other materials prior to 1956.Call No.  OVERSIZE Z881 .A1 .U518

SU Libraries hold  v. 1 - v. 754

National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections  Washington : Library of Congress, 1962-1993

Call No.  REF Z6620 .U5 .N3 SU Libraries hold 1959/1961-1985

Subject Collections: A Guide to Special Book Collections and Subject Emphases as Reported by University, College, Public, and Special Libraries and Museums in the United States and Canada / Ash, Lee.  New Providence, NJ:  R.R. Bowker, 1993 Call No.  REF Z731 .A78 1993

 

19th Century Yellowbacks from Emory University
A glimpse of 19th century British life is available online, courtesy of Emory University Libraries’ Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library (MARBL). More than 1,200 novels known as yellowbacks have been digitized using a cutting-edge robotic digital book scanner purchased from Kirtas Technologies by Emory Libraries in 2008. The Kirtas machine enables the Libraries to scan thousands of rare and out-of-copyright books in its research collections.