Skip to main content

Victorian Studies: Gender & Sexuality

This guide to Victorian Studies was originated by David Oldenkamp, Wendy Bousfield and Professor Linda Shires.

On this page...

You will find links to interdisciplinary databases and resources focusing on issues of gender and sexuality that will be useful in your research in Victorian Studies.

Databases

GenderWatch
Full text publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.

 

LGBT Life (formerly GLBT Life)

LGBT Life is the premier resource to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. Designed for academic, professional and public communities, this database contains indexing and abstracts for more than 80 LGBT-specific core periodicals, with full text access for 50 of these titles. The database includes current coverage of these sources, as well as deep backfiles for key publications - many back to the first published issue.

 

Studies on Women & Gender Abstracts Online
Coverage includes education, employment, women in the family and community, medicine and health, female sex and gender role socialization, social policy, the social psychology of women, female culture, media treatment of women, biography, literary criticism and historical studies. Where possible, abstracts are linked to full text. Covers 1995 - present.

 

Women's Studies International
Includes materials ranging from core writings to ground-breaking feminist scholarship in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, gender studies, arts & humanities, business and education. Full text resources are compiled from over 800 sources including journal articles, books, newspapers, dissertations and theses and grey literature. The database covers from 1972 - present.

Scholarly Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Homosexuality  Ed. by Wayne R. Dynes. New York and London: Garland, 1990
Call Number: REF HQ 76.25 .E53 1990  

Signed articles with bibliographies on such topics as particular countries, law and enforcement, literary figures, language, etc.