Skip to main content

Victorian Studies: News & Periodicals

This guide to Victorian Studies was originated by David Oldenkamp, Wendy Bousfield and Professor Linda Shires.

On this page...

You will find books and other resources that will help you to locate and use materials in Victorian newspapers and other periodicals.

Indexes & Descriptions for Periodicals

Access Periodicals in Print, Microfilm, and Electronic

Indexes & Descriptions for Periodicals

British Literary Magazines: The Victorian and Edwardian Age, 1837-1913. Ed. by Alvin Sullivan. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1984
Call Number: REF PN 5124 .L6 B74 v. 3 1837-1913 

Essays on particular reviews, journals, and illustrated magazines of the period. Signed essays discuss the history, content, contributors, and significance of title.

 

19th Century Masterfile (Contains Poole's Index)
19th Century Masterfile (NCM) is a digital compilation of a growing number of separately published indices to the literature from the period 1800-1920. NCM contains nearly 5 million citations to newspapers, periodicals, books and government documents contained in Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1907, the Index to Legal Periodical Literature, 1786-1922, indices to the New York Daily Tribune (1875-1906), the New York Times (1863-1906), and Palmer's Index to the Times (London) 1880-1890. In addition, there are indices with full text links to Harper's Magazine Index (1850-1892), Atlantic Monthly Index (1857-1901), and the North American Review Index (1815-1877).

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature / William Frederick Poole ; with the assistance as associate editor of William I. Fletcher, and the cooperation of the American Library Association and the Library Association of the United Kingdom.
Call Number: AI3 .P7
SU Libraries have: v.1:pt.1-pt.2 1802-1881; v.2 1882-1886; v.3 1887-1891; v.4 1892-1896; v.5 1897-1902; v.6 1902-1906

 

Lohrli, Anne. Household Words; A Weekly Journal 1850-1859, Conducted by Charles Dickens. Table of contents, list of contributors and their contributions based on the Household words office book in the Morris L. Parrish collection of Victorian novelists, Princeton University Library.
Call Number: REF PN 5130 .H6 L6

Victorian Novels in Serial. Ed. by J. Don Vann. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 1985
Call Number: REF PR 871 .V3 1985
Index to publication dates and contents of serialized fiction by Ainsworth, Collins, Dickens, George Eliot, and others. Introduction discusses history and impact of serialized fiction and synopses of periodicals.

Victorian Periodicals: A Guide to Research
New York: Modern Language Association of America, 1978
Call Number: REF PN 5124 .P4 V5 v. 1 and 2 

Dated but still valuable for chapters by specialists on such topical matters as women's serials, the radical and labor press, magazines for children, religious periodicals, the Welsh periodical press, and serialized novels.

The Waterloo directory of English newspapers and periodicals, 1800-1900
The Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900, is a subject bibliography of 50,000 publications intending to include every periodical and newspaper published on a regular basis, from daily to annually, in every language, within England during the time period.

The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900 / Walter E. Houghton, editor. [Toronto] : University of Toronto Press ; [London] : Routledge & K. Paul, [c1966-c1989]
Call Number: REF Z2005 .H6

Access Periodicals in Print, Microfilm, and Electronic

Newspapers
The New York Times Historic Archive

Times (London, England).
Published: London [England] : R. Nutkins, 1788-
Vols. Published: (see below for library holdings) No. 1023 (Mar. 18, 1788)-
SU Libraries have: 1788-present
Call Number: Microfilm 25

Indexed by 19th Century Masterfile (1880-1890)

London Times Digital Archive (1785-1985)
Full access to the Times Digital Archive, which provides searchable access to 200 years of The Times (London) through high-resolution, downloadable images

Victorian Periodicals

Illustrated London News Archive, 1842-2005

Godey's Ladys Book 1830-1880

Internet Library of Early Journals 
Digitizes "substantial runs of 18th and 19th century journals, and make[s] these images available on the Internet, together with their associated bibliographic data." Includes twenty consecutive years of the following 19th century journals: Notes and Queries, The Builder, Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine.

British Periodicals has page images for 460 titles from the late 17th to the mid 20th centuries.

Access Newspaper Archive,  AKA NewspaperArchives, has indexed page images for many titles from the UK during the Victorian Era.

Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition includes page images from Northern Star (1838-1852), Leader (1850-1860), English Woman’s Journal (1858-1864), Tomahawk (1867-1870), and Publishers’ Circular (1880-1890).

London Gazette

Transcripts from several titles are available in Richard Heaton's Newspaper Collection

 

Check the SUMMIT Library Catalog for the following:

All the Year Round
Bentley's
Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine
Contemporary Review
Cornhill
Edinburgh Review
Fortnightly Review
Household Words
Illustrated London News
Macmillan's
Missionary Herald
Punch
Quarterly Review
Westminster Review