Skip to main content

Victorian Studies: Reference Works & Bibliographies

This guide to Victorian Studies was originated by David Oldenkamp, Wendy Bousfield and Professor Linda Shires.

On this list...

Use the links and call numbers on this list to locate background information for your research.

Reference Works


The Encyclopedia of the Victorian World: A Reader's Companion to the People, Places, Events, and Everyday Life of the Victorian Era
/ Melinda Corey and George Ochoa, [editors].   New York : Henry Holt and Co., 1996.
Call Number: DA550 .E53 1996

Lines, Clifford John. Companion to the Industrial Revolution
New York : Facts on File, 1990.
Call Number: HC254 .5 .L72 1990

Sutherland, John. The Stanford Companion to Victorian Fiction
Stanford, Calif. : Stanford University Press, 1989.
Call Number: REF PR871 .S87 1989

Victorian Britain: An Encyclopedia / Sally Mitchell, editor ... [et al.].
New York : Garland Pub., 1988.
Call Number: DA550 .V53 1988

Print Bibliographies

Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature: 1800-1900 / Edited by Joanne Shattock.
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1999
Call Number: REF PR 83 .C25 1999 v. 4

Cumulative Bibliography of Victorian Studies.
Edmonton, Alta. : LITIR Database, c1982-
Call Number: REF DA533 .A643

SU Libraries hold 1945/1969 and 1990/1994-1995/1999

Vann, J. Don (Jerry Don). Victorian Novels in Serial
Call Number: REF PR871 .V3 1985

Online Bibliographies

British Fiction, 1800-1829: A Database of Production, Circulation, and Reception
Produced in Cardiff University's Centre for Editorial and Intertextual Research, supported by substantial grants from the Arts and Humanities Research Board (AHRB) and Cardiff University. British Fiction allows users to examine bibliographical records of 2,272 works of fiction written by approximately 900 authors, along with a large number of contemporary materials (including anecdotal records, circulating-library catalogues, newspaper advertisements, reviews, and subscription lists).

The English Novel, 1830–1836: A Bibliographical Survey of Fiction Published in the British Isles

At the Circulating Library: A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837-1901
At the Circulating Library (ATCL) was created by Troy J. Bassett, assistant professor of English and Linguistics at Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne, to provide biographical and bibliographical data about the countless authors, publishers, and novels of the Victorian period (1837-1901).