Skip to main content

Victorian Studies: Indexes, Databases, & Journals

This guide to Victorian Studies was originated by David Oldenkamp, Wendy Bousfield and Professor Linda Shires.

On this page...

The sources listed in Indexes & Databases will point you to scholarship in Victorian Studies in a thousands of different periodicals and books.

The titles listed under Core Journals for Victorianists are leading publications in the field. 

Sources in the Theory list will point you to databases and websites that deal with theory and criticism.

Indexes & Databases

Empire Online
Over 60,000 images of original manuscripts and printed material from 1492 to 1969. Includes historical essays and biographies.


Historical Abstracts

Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present. Includes books, articles in journals and collections, and dissertations. Indexes Victorian Periodicals Review.


Humanities Full Text

Index and abstracts to 465 periodicals in archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature. Good source for articles on gender and sexuality. Indexing from February 1984 to the present, abstracts from March 1994. Updated monthly.http://libezproxy.syr.edu/login?url=http://serials.abc-clio.com


JSTOR

Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, and the social sciences.


Literary Databases

Simultaneously search Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select and Dictionary of Literary Biography. These databases contain in-depth information on the lives and writings of nearly 100,000 authors along with critical reaction to their works. Includes integrated indexes to both the DLB and CLC print series.


Literature Online

A fully searchable library with the full text of more than 330,000 works of English and American literature. Includes ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature), which contains over 750,000 records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards. ABELL now includes links to the full text of 120 journals.


MLA Bibliography

Index to critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.


Project Muse

Full-text online access to all journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given.

Core Journals for Victorianists

Theory

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism

Voice of the Shuttle: A Web Site for Humanities Research
perhaps the most complete Humanities website on the Internet.